Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2015, 03:35 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,740
Default Application Manager cache

Hi!

Can someone look into the cache folder of the Application Manager?
On the Mac it´s located in Macintosh HD/Library/Caches/Avid/AppManager.

In the "Downloads" ans "EX" folders i found some installation packages i downloaded via the App Manager. But why is it still in there and wastes harddisk space for about 2GB(!!!)?
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 2018.7
MacOSX
MOTU 4pre
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2015, 12:16 PM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 645
Default Re: Application Manager cache

Quote:
Originally Posted by clausiii View Post
Hi!

Can someone look into the cache folder of the Application Manager?
On the Mac it´s located in Macintosh HD/Library/Caches/Avid/AppManager.

In the "Downloads" ans "EX" folders i found some installation packages i downloaded via the App Manager. But why is it still in there and wastes harddisk space for about 2GB(!!!)?
Can you delete the folder /Avid (including AppManager) without it affecting Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2015, 12:19 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: Application Manager cache

i don´t know.

but i deleted the installers.
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 2018.7
MacOSX
MOTU 4pre
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2015, 02:26 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,806
Default Re: Application Manager cache

Quote:
Originally Posted by clausiii View Post
i don´t know.

but i deleted the installers.
Hey

Same here, almost 3 GB of waste in there
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2015, 11:26 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: Application Manager cache

__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 2018.7
MacOSX
MOTU 4pre
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2018, 09:50 AM
relaxo relaxo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,533
Default Re: Application Manager cache

I have an answer...On Mac, while running in "AvidApplicationManager.app", go to "Preferences" and click on the "Clear Cache Files" button. This empties the following folders to clear space on your startup drive...I tested it myself:

STARUP DRIVE/Library/Caches/Avid/AppManager/Downloads
STARUP DRIVE/Library/Caches/Avid/AppManager/Cache
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2018, 05:44 AM
Tubab Lamin's Avatar
Tubab Lamin Tubab Lamin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 52
Default Re: Application Manager cache

Thanks to benoni youtube I saved 47gb!
you can safely delete content inside both folders
__________________
Pro Tools|HD Operator
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Log In to Application Manager Josh523 Pro Tools 12 3 08-21-2016 08:44 AM
Application Manager Prentiss Carr Pro Tools 12 4 10-18-2015 08:25 AM
Application Manager 2.4.4 unkJE Pro Tools 12 8 10-14-2015 01:56 PM
Application Manager hooksound Pro Tools 12 0 04-08-2015 10:00 AM
new Application Manager suggestion clausiii Pro Tools 12 0 04-01-2015 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com