Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2018, 12:22 AM
mirtle mirtle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Default midi won't work

I can't get my midi controller to work with any plugins that come with PT12

Set up / midi / midi input devices lists the umx490
the mouse makes notes on the virtual keyboard
but can't get a peep out of the controller.

the midi in light on the 003 rack + does not light up

any help would be appreciated



MacBook Pro SIERRA 10.12.5
PT 12.8.0
003 RACK +
BEHRINGER UMX490 CONTROLLER
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2018, 03:36 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,151
Default Re: midi won't work

Grab the free snoize MIDI monitor program. It's run standalone and will tell you what if any MIDI message are coming through to the computer.

If you get nothing then:
How exactly are you connecting the keyboard to the computer? From your description I'm assuming you're going through the traditional round 5 pin MIDI port. If so how are you powering the unit? Wall wart or batteries?

As I understand the keyboard can also be powered through the USB port. I don't have the manual but can the keyboard be connected by both the USB port and through the round 5 pin MIDI connection at the same time? Something I would try is to go direct connect from the keyboard to the computer via the USB cable and see if you get MIDI showing in snoize that way. That would at least tell you the keyboard is functioning.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2018, 04:06 PM
mirtle mirtle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: midi won't work

thanks Jack

didn't need to do anything, came back after ploughing the back forty and lo and behold everything was working
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digi 001 midi ports + OMS . Cant get midi to work voltech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-08-2006 12:32 PM
Can't get midi to work Andrew Anderson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-08-2005 10:34 PM
Get MIDI to work! B Freedman Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 11-23-2002 05:57 AM
Help: Can't get the midi to work!? Kickin.da.speaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-28-2001 04:29 PM
Help!!! Midi Does Not work Loopman General Discussion 2 05-17-2000 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com