Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2018, 09:58 PM
sign3912 sign3912 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Korea, Seoul
Posts: 18
Default Hi. I wonder How can I use UR28M Audio Interface as monitor controller?

So I wonder how can I use UR28M interface as monitor controller.

UR28M has output monitor controller function.
Then. I want to upgrade interface to UAD Apollo 8 for surround.

And Can I use UR28M as montiro controller with s/Pdif?

Then. Apollo8 S/PDIF out - UR28M S/PDIF In - UR28M Output to Surround Speaker (6 Output)

Please who helps me!
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2018, 10:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,262
Default Re: Hi. I wonder How can I use UR28M Audio Interface as monitor controller?

Yes you should be able to since I belive these support stand-alone operation.

You need to read the manual and look at how to configure the interface for stand-alone operation so it's routing the input you want to use to the outputs. That's the key.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2018, 09:36 AM
sign3912 sign3912 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Korea, Seoul
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hi. I wonder How can I use UR28M Audio Interface as monitor controller?

Thank you for reply.
So how can I know the way to use UR28M interface as monitor controller standalone? I think the S/PDIF lines. But, It's difficult to route.

Please help me. There's no information anything in Manual of UR28M.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2018, 11:59 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,262
Default Hi. I wonder How can I use UR28M Audio Interface as monitor controller?

There is a whole section in the operation manual on the dspMixFx UR28M that talks about using stand-alone operation. With that you can create a mix routing from S/PDIF In that outputs through the monitor controller. You need to read the manual and play with dspMixFx. DUC is not the place to waste space rehashing stuff that is already well documented elsewhere. If you are stuck and something is not working as expected in that doc then ask specific questions, if stuck try that here, but there may be other places better than DUC to do that since there is nothing related to Pro Tools or Avid products going on here.

Common mistakes would be using ADAT instead of S/PDIF.

I now noticed your original post mentioned “surround”. I have no idea what surround has to do with this. The UR28M, it is a stereo monitor controller. And the monitor control in the Apollo 8 is also stereo only, with no monitor switching. And S/PDIF is stereo only. So what exactly are you trying to do?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-23-2018 at 12:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2018, 06:56 PM
sign3912 sign3912 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Korea, Seoul
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hi. I wonder How can I use UR28M Audio Interface as monitor controller?

I know that. I try to do use ur28M as surround monitor controller, not srereo.. But Spdif is only for stereo.
Thank u for remind this. I should buy surround monitor controller like SPL. And shoulf use Digi Link Cable, not SPDIF.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losing audio using interface combo setup through Mac Audio Midi controller AdrianJ Pro Tools 2018 0 04-17-2018 03:47 PM
Audio is only comping from my monitor, and not my audio interface imjtblanton Pro Tools 11 6 10-28-2016 06:18 AM
SM Pro Audio, M-Patch2 monitor controller lucienpalmer Buy & Sell 3 09-07-2016 07:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com