Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2018, 04:02 PM
pianosdr pianosdr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Irvine
Posts: 52
Default Having trouble aligning downbeats with tempo

Hi there,

I'm running into a problem getting my music to align with the bars/beats in Pro Tools.

I'd like to know how to get my music to align properly with the bars being generated after I've played the music on my controller. Even after identifying the beat of my music, and then setting the session tempo to that beat, it appears that the score editor is still not aligning the beats with the bars properly.

As a simple example, I have a loop of 4 notes played on a bass, and I looped that riff over 2 bars. One note is supposed to be for each beat of the bar. And although I've now already identified the beat that I played and quantized the notes to that rhythm so that my timing imperfections while playing have been corrected in the software, Pro Tools still isn't aligning the bars properly. Bar 1 is playing all 4 notes of the loop, and then also tacking on a dotted 8th note at the end of the bar which is tied to a 16th note of bar 2, when in reality this entire note was supposed to be the 1st beat of bar 2. This error then obviously continues throughout the rest of the loop, gradually causing the downbeats to get farther and farther away from each successive measure.

How can I get Pro Tools to properly recognize where each bar is supposed to land in relation to my notes? I've googled everything I can think of and just can't figure it out.

Thanks!

Last edited by pianosdr; 05-01-2018 at 05:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2018, 04:07 PM
pianosdr pianosdr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Irvine
Posts: 52
Default Re: Having trouble aligning downbeats with tempo



Here's an image to help illustrate what I'm talking about in the simple example music. The bars are supposed to align with the notes shown in the image, but even after tempo identification and quantization, the bars are still remaining off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2018, 04:20 PM
pianosdr pianosdr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Irvine
Posts: 52
Default Re: Having trouble aligning downbeats with tempo

I'm also running into an issue with quantization where quantizing is turning all of the notes I quantized into simple blips, where it barely sounds as if they're being played at all. This seems like a bug, and I have seen a few posts mentioning this in the past in google searches, but no solutions to that either.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having trouble determining this tempo DBK Getting Started 3 01-08-2018 02:01 PM
Aligning Midi to Tempo Map with Beat Detective-Can't move analysis markers. Dizzi45Z Tips & Tricks 7 08-25-2015 03:35 PM
delineating downbeats in MIDI grateful 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-30-2012 11:15 PM
Trouble with tempo changes mid-session caulds989@mac.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-12-2010 03:45 PM
Tempo Trouble protoolsjimmy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-02-2007 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com