Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-23-2018, 12:54 AM
latinbaum latinbaum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: is there any way to have Pro tools HD connected to Apollo 8p as a thunderbolt?

Bearsounds ... I had the same question (I think). You want to run Pro Tools HD 12 using only the Apollo Quad instead of using any AVID PCIe or the HD Native Thunderbolt unit.. is that correct? If so, did it work for you? I always thought that the PCIe card was a must in order to operate PTHD.I'm looking to upgrade as well essentially for the same reasons you are.

Thanks in advance for your response.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-23-2018, 03:46 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs NY
Posts: 509
Default Re: is there any way to have Pro tools HD connected to Apollo 8p as a thunderbolt?

You can use any 3rd party core audio interface with PTHD since version 9.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2018.4 | HD Native PCIe | HD I/O | 2 x Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Sierra 10.12.6 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v9.6 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is anyone running Apollo with Thunderbolt on Hackintosh? Melodeath Pro Tools Software (Mac) 7 10-17-2017 09:09 PM
Thunderbolt Connector Apollo 8p Problem gmu Pro Tools 12 3 12-13-2016 01:33 AM
Apollo - FireWire vs Thunderbolt mrgroovy Third Party Interfaces 3 12-20-2015 07:34 AM
Latency with Apollo thunderbolt juh Pro Tools Software (Mac) 8 11-27-2015 09:44 PM
PT doesn't see apollo with thunderbolt cable nob turner Third Party Interfaces 5 10-05-2014 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com