Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2018, 06:59 AM
Audioartist Audioartist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 340
Default Profile wordclock sync with two snakecards

Anyone that had problems with syncing two snakecards. Profile stops syncing the two snakecards quite often, tried different cables, no difference. Do I have to reseat some cards?
I often have problems as well when sending madi to others that they fall out of sync.
__________________
D-control ES 32 - Venue Profile 48x24 - S3L-X - Yamaha DM2000 - Artist mix and control - HD7 accel - HDX2 / Magma EB3T
HD native thunderbolt
PT10HD 10.3.8. - PT11HD 11.3.2
2xHD madi - 2xHD omni -
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2018, 12:24 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 590
Default Re: Profile wordclock sync with two snakecards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioartist View Post
Anyone that had problems with syncing two snakecards. Profile stops syncing the two snakecards quite often, tried different cables, no difference. Do I have to reseat some cards?
I often have problems as well when sending madi to others that they fall out of sync.
What does it do when it stops syncing? I have had 2 snake cards in my rack but mostly have had just one stage rack and I have never seen any sync related issues.

Snake cards have ribbon cables going to DSP cards if I remember correctly. You can always try to reseat these and even the DSP cards might sometimes need a reseating I have heard. Overall cleaning and maintenance of the FOH rack wouldn't hurt I guess.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2018, 05:09 AM
Audioartist Audioartist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 340
Default Re: Profile wordclock sync with two snakecards

I use mostly one stagerack as well.
Led just flashes red and asks for wc cable to be connected.

When connected madi falls out of sync it is the standard dropout thing and loosing audio.

It seems that the profile just does not deliver clock very well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
What does it do when it stops syncing? I have had 2 snake cards in my rack but mostly have had just one stage rack and I have never seen any sync related issues.



Snake cards have ribbon cables going to DSP cards if I remember correctly. You can always try to reseat these and even the DSP cards might sometimes need a reseating I have heard. Overall cleaning and maintenance of the FOH rack wouldn't hurt I guess.
__________________
D-control ES 32 - Venue Profile 48x24 - S3L-X - Yamaha DM2000 - Artist mix and control - HD7 accel - HDX2 / Magma EB3T
HD native thunderbolt
PT10HD 10.3.8. - PT11HD 11.3.2
2xHD madi - 2xHD omni -
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2018, 05:17 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 590
Default Re: Profile wordclock sync with two snakecards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioartist View Post
I use mostly one stagerack as well.
Led just flashes red and asks for wc cable to be connected.

When connected madi falls out of sync it is the standard dropout thing and loosing audio.

It seems that the profile just does not deliver clock very well.
I am no Avid tech support, so they could probably do a way better job at helping, but I would check the internal cabling as I suggested before and another thing that comest to my mind is that you could try to swap the places of the snake cards, make the upper card become lower and the other way around. That way, if one has a bad output connector and the other one has bad input connector you would end up using different connectors and maybe you get lucky and it works! Or it's just the internal ribbon cable needing reseating. If I was you, I would take it all apart, remove the dust and reseat everything or if I would feel uncomfortable doing that by myself I would hire someone good to do it for me. It's a PC so anything can happen :-D I would also contact Live Sound Tech Support and maybe they can read out something from the log files about any of the cards being faulty and so on.

Take care!
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync, wordclock issue mixmania Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-02-2011 07:57 PM
Mbox wordclock sync? letrev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-28-2004 03:38 PM
PT Sync with wordclock mongiver Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 02-10-2004 05:56 AM
MTP vs DTP and spdif wordclock sync to 001/PTle rdatman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-22-2002 12:33 AM
Question regarding Wordclock sync... chengod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-16-2002 10:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com