Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-03-2020, 02:40 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,263
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Ok then PT should find that keyboard if connected correct and setup correctly in PT and the Mac. No drivers or HUI or anything like that.
Which is what i said.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2020, 08:31 AM
mophilly mophilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

Thanks to all who have posted. I really appreciate the suggestions and info.

For the record, here is the current details from my PT project.

-- Hardware and Software
Pro Tools 2019-12
iMac (late 2013) running MacOS Catalina (10.15.2)
Yamaha P-105
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2nd Gen

-- Pro Tools Setup
Hardware: Scarlett
Playback Engine: Scarlett, HW Buffer size 256 Samples, playback cache 1GB
Peripherals: installation defaults
I/O: default paths to Scarlett; all other settings default on installation
MIDI setup:
MIDI Studio: Scarlett and a general device that I named as piano. Manufacturer is Yamaha, nothing in model
MIDI Beat Clock: “Scarlett” enabled, “Expand!2 1” disabled
MIDI Fitler: defaults
MIDI Input Devices: Only Scarlett listed and it is selected

-- Track: 1 (works)
Input: Input 1 of Scarlett, connected to Shure microphone
Output: BO12 (Scarlett analogue 1)
Instrument: nothing
Inserts: AIR non-linear reverb
Sends: none

-- Track: 2 (not working)
Input: no input… what goes here? input, bus or plugin? plug in is greyed out.
Output: BO12 (Scarlett analogue 1)
Instrument: All, none
Insert: multi-channel input > EQ > AIR EQ Kill
Send: none
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-04-2020, 12:23 PM
mophilly mophilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Doesn’t the Focusrite Interface have midi in and out? If so just get 2 cheap 5 dollar midi cables and connect to the keyboard and if it doesn’t have midi in and out and you dont have USB Midi on the yamaha you need 2 cheap 5 dollar midi cables.

Does it look like this on the back?
Yes, the back of the Focusrite Scarlett does have the 5 pin DIN connectors for midi in and out.

However, the Yamaha P-105 has a USB type B connector. https://www.cablestogo.com/learning/...es/usb#!b-type

The cable I have is USB type B to USB type A, similar to this: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._0_Type_A.html

I have looked around for a USB to MIDI 5 pin DIN adapter without any luck.

The Yamaha P-105 does have auxiliary output, but that would not be MIDI.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-04-2020, 12:45 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,263
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by mophilly View Post
The cable I have is USB type B to USB type A, similar to this: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._0_Type_A.html
And that's all you need. Plug it in the computer and get going.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-04-2020, 02:21 PM
mophilly mophilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
And that's all you need. Plug it in the computer and get going.
Yeah! Except it doesn't. I cannot "see" the piano in the PT input.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-04-2020, 02:29 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,263
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by mophilly View Post
Yeah! Except it doesn't. I cannot "see" the piano in the PT input.
Like I said earlier; unless something is faulty, it should be automatically recognized by PT. Plug it in (the keyboard), restart pro tools, make a instrument track, insert a instrument plugin on it (to make the sound when you hit the keys), and make shure the instrument track is selected (its name is highlighted), and it should work.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-04-2020, 02:52 PM
mophilly mophilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

Thank you, Ben. I will try again.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-04-2020, 02:54 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,263
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

I'm sorry, I should have pointed out; the piano will not show up in track input selectors. It's a midi controller, and the clue is to select the midi- or instrument track you want it to control.


I hope you're aware that as a midi device, it won't output its own sounds, it will only be a way to trigger instrument plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-04-2020, 03:06 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,263
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

So, if you want to use the piano as a sound source, just connect its stereo outputs, L&R, to your interface, make a stereo audio track with input set to 1-2, and rec enable it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-05-2020, 06:37 PM
mophilly mophilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25
Default Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard

Thank you, Ben, for taking time to help me through this.

You wrote, "It's a midi controller, and the clue is to select the midi- or instrument track you want it to control." Hm... somewhere along the line I got the impression that the digital piano was not a midi controller. I will work along that idea and set up a new track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 2017 / High Sierra / ProTools 12.8.3 ... the worst combination ?? cozy_man macOS 11 09-17-2019 12:24 PM
No MIDI thru in 2019.5 and High Sierra Ray Lyon MIDI 0 06-07-2019 08:19 PM
Digidesign MIDI IO with PT 2018 / High Sierra? Zep Dude MIDI 1 02-04-2019 06:57 PM
Mbox Mini (3rd gen) not connecting in High Sierra on old Mac Mini or new iMac Hoevelmann FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 04-26-2018 09:49 AM
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 - High pitched, faster recorded issues Stef1342 Pro Tools 12 15 07-31-2017 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com