Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-21-2019, 09:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,096
Default Re: Please Help Me Upgrade My Old TDM Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
Sounds to me like you should stay TDM.
Why? He says it's time to upgrade and now just gathering information
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-21-2019, 09:09 AM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 373
Default Re: Please Help Me Upgrade My Old TDM Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
Sounds to me like you should stay TDM.
I know, right!
I think that I suffer from plug-in envy and HUGE desire to use more than 4 GB of ram. Remember when 4 GB used to be a LOT?
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Apple Mac Pro (Mid 2010)
2.8 ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10.7.5 with 10 GB RAM
Blue 192 i/o w/ Two 888/24's in Legacy Port
Magma PE6R4 Chassis
C/24 Control Surface
HD 5 Accel, PT 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-21-2019, 09:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,096
Default Re: Please Help Me Upgrade My Old TDM Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProTooler View Post
Remember when 4 GB used to be a LOT?
Oh don't tempt me... I remember when 64 kilobytes was a lot, not to mention a full megabyte on my first PC
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-21-2019, 01:39 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 742
Default Re: Please Help Me Upgrade My Old TDM Rig

I had an HD4 Accel PCI-x in a i5 PC, running 8.1.1 and it was OK, not optimum though. I picked up a 6-slot Magma PE6R4 Chassis on eBay for $325 with PCIe interface card & cables. Then I picked up 2 more Accel cards with flex cable for $90 each on eBay for an HD6. This I put into a i7 PC 4.4Ghz/32Gb/SSD boot/10K RPM spinners, now it's a dadgum hot-rod. Now this Magma chassis will work with your Mac, but your PCIe cards will not. Good news is that the PCI-x Core & Accel cards are cheap and plentiful while the PCIe cards not quite so. Sell your cards on eBay and use that money to get a Magma and PCI-x Core & Accel cards. You can run up to Pro Tools HD10 with I think Mavericks the latest OS. Lot's of available options. Good Luck!
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018, 2019
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Vienna Ensemble Pro 7
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 8 in/8 out/Digtal I/O
192 Analog I/O 8 in/Digital I/O
Two 192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800, AD16X & DA16X (All wth X-HD cards)
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.5 Mojave

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card
OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra & Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-21-2019, 01:56 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,096
Default Re: Please Help Me Upgrade My Old TDM Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugarnutz View Post
Pro Tools HD10 with I think Mavericks the latest OS
Latest supported OS would be Mountain Lion, but known issues aside you *can* run PT10 on Mavericks.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-21-2019, 03:08 PM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: Please Help Me Upgrade My Old TDM Rig

1 HDX card can give you up to 64 I/O, so for your case I would explore the Merging HORUS chassis with 1 PT64 card and 5 ADA8 cards, that will give you 40 I/O in total+40 mic preamps. The HORUS has 6 slots so you can configure as you wish.


Horus info
https://www.merging.com/products/interfaces/horus


Cards info
https://www.merging.com/products/int...s/option-cards
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Sierra | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2019 | Pyramix XI | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali LP-6 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing 1 qualifying license(s) for upgrade to Annual Upgrade Plan for Pro Tools 12 bangmusicdk Licensing & Accounts 0 11-12-2016 11:27 AM
Pro Tools Upgrade Upgrade Plan Extenstion adam79 Pro Tools 12 3 04-30-2016 11:07 AM
I bought m oowered 7.4 with free upgrade to ver 8. HOW DO I UPGRADE cmangeot Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 10-17-2009 09:14 PM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 12:22 PM
5.1 upgrade..drivers? also is the D-verb demo an upgrade? bryanbassett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-21-2002 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com