Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2019, 10:11 AM
amathie amathie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 52
Default Sync audio clip to timeline cursor position?

I'm stuck trying to do what must be a simple task in Pro Tools but I haven't been able to work it out so advice from more experienced operators would be gratefully received.

I want to sync a sound effect audio clip to a specific video frame, for example an explosion. I have a video track with burnt in timecode, aligned with timecode in the main timeline counter. I've first marked a sync point on the audio clip and have then scrubbed the timeline so that the playback cursor is at the timecode position and the video frame I'm trying to sync to is showing in the video window. How then to I snap the audio clip to the playback cursor?

I know in SPOT MODE I can double click on the clip to open the spot dialog box and enter a timecode position manually but that seems very slow.

This must be bread and butter for postproduction so is there a standard workflow for this, for example some command that would "move sync point of audio clip to current timecode position in timeline" or some other method.

Thanks for any input
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2019, 11:09 AM
amathie amathie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 52
Default Re: Sync audio clip to timeline cursor position?

Sorry to waste time and space on the forum but I've got it.

I can click on the audio clip with the grabber tool holding down the modifiers

CONTROL
CONTROL+COMMAND or
CONTROL +SHIFT

to move the front, back and sync point position of the clip to the cursor position.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timeline and MIDI cursor are not moving in sync GeneRoberts Pro Tools 12 2 04-30-2017 01:22 PM
how can I move 2 objects to cursor position while not changing their relativ position Sir Hannes Pro Tools 12 13 11-23-2015 09:08 PM
mouseless editing | TC/E stretch clip to current cursor position johannes1 Pro Tools 10 2 02-27-2015 10:51 AM
Can you link tempo marker position to clip position? DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 1 09-16-2012 03:58 PM
Sync I/O TC output reflecting timeline position James Drake Post - Surround - Video 10 02-14-2007 06:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com