Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-29-2019, 07:49 PM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 513
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by chipss36 View Post
I don’t recall many ever asking for this anyway.
Many other repetitive requests have been ignored.
Sounds good to investors...
__________________
Brian Campbell
"Air mixes better than any console" Bill Porter
"Humility is mighty important in this business of listening" Bob Olhsson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-30-2019, 05:53 AM
Riture's Avatar
Riture Riture is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastermaster View Post
...I'll be back when this thing has proper real time collaboration and the speed that we require in these days.
Looking at the combination of Avid Link and Avid Cloud Collaboration, I had confidence that Avid would get this right. I convinced myself Avid would have learned from how eSession's Virtual Glass that used to work with Pro Tools failed in 2012. There are a few fixes with 2019.6 and hopefully getting there.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-01-2019, 09:50 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,626
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

We're trying to use it for something very simple: 1-track, remote recordings of the host of a syndicated radio show. It's workable so far, but just barely. My own tests of the system somehow used up my ability to share sessions that I create. I had to have a coworker create one for us and share it with us, even though I had deleted all of the test sessions. Empty account, empty session, Avid says "project is full" and can't be shared with anyone. It's not even good enough to be in beta.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-01-2019, 05:23 PM
Prabha Prabha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 88
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by chipss36 View Post
I don’t recall many ever asking for this anyway.
Many other repetitive requests have been ignored.
I have the same perception...
__________________
PC i56600K 3.5Ghz 16Gb ram
Win 7 64
SSL MX4
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-02-2019, 12:29 PM
Flyingrockstudios Flyingrockstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Utah, United States
Posts: 8
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

I have used the Avid Cloud for several projects. It takes some getting used to for sure, and it is a bit kluge for a released product. I like the idea of remote collaboration, but it does need more work from Avid. I have a fiber Internet connection to my studio, so I don’t have any slowdowns with uploads/downloads. But I would not use this for storing a project ever - always save it offline. When I decided to change my e-mail login with Avid, the whole process was a nightmare. After waiting for months for Avid to figure it out how to transfer my projects to my new cloud account, they finally had me download and save all my projects from my old account, and then upload them again to the new account. I then had to resend out all my collaborator invites...moral of the story, do NOT change your e-mail login address for your Avid account, especially if you already have active cloud projects going!
__________________
PT Ultimate HDX, C24, HD IO 16x16, Mac Pro 2013
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-02-2019, 12:38 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,072
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

Of course with anything cloud based (as in not in your own computer) you need fast connection. But as it is today, I pay 5 euros a month for 100Mbit connection so it shouldn't be an issue.

The other problem mentioned, no space available, Avid Support should work it out -- after all, that's why you pay for the support plan!
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-02-2019, 12:45 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
We're trying to use it for something very simple: 1-track, remote recordings of the host of a syndicated radio show. It's workable so far, but just barely. My own tests of the system somehow used up my ability to share sessions that I create. I had to have a coworker create one for us and share it with us, even though I had deleted all of the test sessions. Empty account, empty session, Avid says "project is full" and can't be shared with anyone. It's not even good enough to be in beta.
Your account might need a cloud storage reset.
It currently shows 1.02+3kb of 1gb used.
Either a project exceeds the allocated 1GB cloud storage, or your Cloud Storage did not sync properly with your Avid Account. I suggest saving your Projects as Sessions (locally on any drive) before proceeding with the cloud reset.
You can start up a support case to proceed or let me know here on the forums.
-Tope
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-02-2019, 05:27 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,657
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Of course with anything cloud based (as in not in your own computer) you need fast connection. But as it is today, I pay 5 euros a month for 100Mbit connection so it shouldn't be an issue.

The other problem mentioned, no space available, Avid Support should work it out -- after all, that's why you pay for the support plan!


The US is behind other countries in internet speed and price. It's $60 a month for me for 18Mbit down 1Mb up Have to go with satellite to get anything faster.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-02-2019, 07:41 PM
Flyingrockstudios Flyingrockstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Utah, United States
Posts: 8
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post


The US is behind other countries in internet speed and price. It's $60 a month for me for 18Mbit down 1Mb up Have to go with satellite to get anything faster.
It also depends a lot on where you live. I live in a planned community, and my HOA fees cover the 100MB fiber speed. So of course I had to upgrade to 1GB fiber service for $45 a month more. With fiber you get the entire bandwidth and you don’t share bandwidth with neighbors. It’s probably overkill, but it makes me feel better!
__________________
PT Ultimate HDX, C24, HD IO 16x16, Mac Pro 2013
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-02-2019, 10:55 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Why I consider Avid Cloud a massive failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Your account might need a cloud storage reset.
It currently shows 1.02+3kb of 1gb used.
Either a project exceeds the allocated 1GB cloud storage, or your Cloud Storage did not sync properly with your Avid Account. I suggest saving your Projects as Sessions (locally on any drive) before proceeding with the cloud reset.
You can start up a support case to proceed or let me know here on the forums.
-Tope

What's the point of posting a reply to only one of the concerns?
All that does is reaffirm Avids hopelessness IMHO.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVID Cloud Storage jukbox Pro Tools 12 1 12-30-2016 01:01 AM
Is Avid Cloud Collaboration available? Rockman413 Pro Tools | First Discussion 2 08-07-2015 02:03 PM
Avid Everywhere and the Cloud Peter Cole General Discussion 0 10-18-2014 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com