Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2009, 10:37 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 851
Default Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

Hi:
Problems installing PT8 HD

I've done a complete uninstall of PT7.4 including all drivers. When I do the PT 8 install from DVD, when it gets to the part where it installs the Hardware drivers, I get an error message

Digidesign Audio Drivers Returned an Error
Error: -2147213312

The install completes if I check OK in the error dialog box but PT8 won't startup because it can't find the HD cards in my PC (Windows XP Pro). I also continue to get the Found New Multimedia Hardware window when I boot up.


I looked on my hard drive and there is no Drivers subdirectory anywhere. I have the old 7.4 drivers directory but assume that I should not be using the old drivers with PT8. Is there anywhere I can either download the PT 8 install files and try with that or otherwise download the Drivers for my HD Core and Accel cards?

Help?

Running XP Pro SP3 with the following Quad system (which worked perfectly with my PT HD 7.4 system. I also have an HD Core card and one Acel card.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2009, 10:23 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 640
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

Did you try to install the drivers manually?

When it says found multimedia drivers, point the installer (click "have disk") to the program files/digidesign/drivers folder.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:44 AM
wolfskin wolfskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

Did you download the PT8 installation files before burning them to DVD?

If so, this error may occur if the installation files were not extracted properly. After downloading the PT8 software, use WinZip to extract the files (I've seen older versions of WinRAR cause issues). There should be subfolders for the Creative Collection (Boom, MiniGrand, etc...). Note: If there are no subfolders, these files did not extract correctly, and this error will occur.

Hope this helps. Good luck!
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP3 & Vista Ultimate SP1 / 002R v8.0 w/ MPT2
AMD X2 4800+ Dual Core / 1000 FSB / 4 GB RAM
www.wolfskinrecords.com
www.voodoopilot.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2009, 06:18 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 851
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

I bought a boxed copy so did not download any files. Working from a Digidesign DVD with PT 8 Installers on it.

Can't find any drivers on the DVD and it doesn't match what the installation instructions says in any case.

To top it off, in the install booklet, it says to remove previous versions of PT before doing the install (which I did using the Uninstall program on the Digi DVD) OR it says after installing the upgrade, uninstall ProTools. What is up with that?

I'm back to 7.4 until I can speak to or hear from someone at Digidesign. Should have known to steer clear of 1.0 version....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2009, 09:01 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 851
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

OK, I got PT 8 installed and did a manual lookup to point to the 7.4 drivers I had saved. It seemed to work and I was able to do a mixing session with no problems. Digi....is this OK or do I NEED PT 8 audio drivers for my HD Core and Accel cards?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:45 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,854
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

Hi markus44uk,
Quick question,
Do you have a kensington trackball by any chance? Mouseworks software?
Thanks,
Brandon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2009, 04:22 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 851
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

Yes I have a Kensington trackball model k64325 and I am using mouseworks version 6.2.2

why?

By the way, I am now unable to open or close PT8 without access violations....I am screwed till I can get these hardware drivers sorted out.

Digi?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2009, 07:53 PM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,395
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

hey markus as the other poster (Brandon) kinda mentioned it. i think i may have read something about the kingston stuff giving problems in the read me. i'm nowhere near my protools computer or pt docs but maybe something to look into
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2009, 11:22 AM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 851
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

I will uninstall the Mouseware but the bigger question remains unanswered. WHen I install PT 8 from the DVD, it says to disconnect my PT hardware....does this mean I should remove the Core and Accel cards from the PC? That seems to be the main issue here...an inability for the PT installer to correctly install the audio and hardware drivers....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2009, 03:58 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Digi Audio Drivers Return Error During Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by x9blade View Post
hey markus as the other poster (Brandon) kinda mentioned it. i think i may have read something about the kingston stuff giving problems in the read me. i'm nowhere near my protools computer or pt docs but maybe something to look into
Kensington Mouseworks needs to be uninstalled to even install PT 8. Also, if you install Mouseworks afterward, you'll probably get the infamous playback problem. If you uninstall Mouseworks, the playback problem will be gone.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10? Or audio drivers first? Install ??? DaddySaysSoooooo Pro Tools 10 2 04-18-2013 10:16 AM
Drivers wont install? - error 1603 Lynnweb7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-07-2011 12:27 PM
problem with PT 8 install - digidesign audio drivers returned an error 2147213312 music project 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 38 05-31-2010 12:38 AM
When should I install the latest M-Audio drivers? 4884loco Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 12-12-2006 12:12 AM
Quicktime Vs Digi core audio 3 the return.. stuey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-23-2005 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com