Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:35 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,280
Default A request to increase efficiency

Hi AVID

Is there some way of having the non-essential dialogue boxes pop up after the session has opened? Nothing more annoying than to open up a session, pop out to make a cuppa, and come back only to find the ProTools icon jumping about because it's hanging, waiting for you to hit the Return key. *Twice*. Then you still end up waiting for it to load plug-ins etc. Just open the session already!
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-06-14 at 14.32.34.png (91.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-06-14 at 14.35.07.png (42.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2019, 10:35 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

Massively support this suggestion! And while they’re at it they could remove modal dialog boxes for things like trying to scrub an inactive track. A warning that doesn’t stop operation (in the status bar or somewhere) would suffice.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2019, 11:47 AM
mr xy mr xy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 161
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

A big yes on this!!!! Great idea!!
__________________
PT 12.7.1 OSX 10.9.5, Early 2009 Mac Pro 12-Core 2.66Ghz, Radeon HD 5870, Metric Halo ULN-8, UAD-Octo PCI-e
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2019, 12:04 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

+1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2019, 02:09 PM
johnsimmons johnsimmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Londinium
Posts: 273
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

Ha, yes , funnily enough had this side chain note the other day yet again but never thought about this, an easy win for Avid. I wonder if yesterdays Logic update with it's efficiency drive inspired this, and hopefully Avid took note to find a few percent of operational extras in PT. Maybe we should have a little thread on those....

Btw Did anyone else look at Apple's extra 745 audio tracks and feel a bit of a chill , both for Avid and our currently missing HDX "bonus tracks". sorry to bring that up ! As you were...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2019, 02:13 PM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

This is a great idea.
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2019, 04:08 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,308
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

One more vote here
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2019, 05:31 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 760
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

+1 here
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2019, 11:47 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,706
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

while Main Avid works on that .. we then need thia to compliment ..

when using Pt |Control, how many times have you walked into a recording space, recording by yourself, or standing next to a client that is singing or playing for you .. and you have your ipad and nothing is working, it is like it Freezes up .. BUT actually there is a Silly Dialpog Box on your Main Screen that you CANNOT SEE on the ipad .. walk back in and dismiss it .. and hopefully get to work ..

not trying to be a hijacker, just a complimentary need to the pre-load Boxes the OP mentions, fully support that !!!

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2019, 02:55 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 760
Default Re: A request to increase efficiency

I wouldn’t be giving any client in our studio an iPad with EuControl on it, that could be asking for trouble. I use it personally or under certain recording situations when recording myself. The only iPad controller I give clients is one that is connected to my TF5 that allows them to set their own monitor mix via their dedicated AUX send. And a lot of the time the clients download the app to their smartphones. I have a seperate app that can control the whole TF5 which I use when doing a live shows and the TF5 is located back or side of stage.

However I do agree with the sync thing, this newer version seems a lot more stable than the previous version... but then I’ve only used it yesterday for about 6 hours without any issue. It would be nice if PT could send those prompts to the iPad in any case... although I didn’t encounter that issue yesterday but have in the past.

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
while Main Avid works on that .. we then need thia to compliment ..

when using Pt |Control, how many times have you walked into a recording space, recording by yourself, or standing next to a client that is singing or playing for you .. and you have your ipad and nothing is working, it is like it Freezes up .. BUT actually there is a Silly Dialpog Box on your Main Screen that you CANNOT SEE on the ipad .. walk back in and dismiss it .. and hopefully get to work ..

not trying to be a hijacker, just a complimentary need to the pre-load Boxes the OP mentions, fully support that !!!

cheers john
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 efficiency? climber Pro Tools 11 6 09-12-2013 10:16 AM
Pt9 Input limitation request.. NOT increase.. Just change how it works Shonk Studios Pro Tools 9 14 11-11-2011 06:22 AM
Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers 6string 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 12-22-2008 06:37 PM
Speed Efficiency smashingyoungman General Discussion 2 01-03-2007 09:43 AM
Buffer problems - Increase-Decrease-Increase 6string 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-17-2005 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com