Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2017, 12:39 PM
ctyelvis ctyelvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, IN
Posts: 465
Default Avid Artist Control And "wonderful" Avid Customer support...

I just bought a brand spanking new Avid Artist control and mixer from Alto music. It arrived today.
I was all excited opening the sealed boxes and setting them up on my desktop. Went to install the software and it informed me there was a newer software and that I should download it. Clicked on the link and it takes me too a dead web page. Error 404 (see pics).
I go to the Avid site and try and register my new hardware. I went through inserting all my info, only to get. "this serial number is already in our database."
I click on the link for help with this problem. it basically says click on this link to email customer support. Guess what? That link was dead too. It pops up a new email but with no "TO" address.
I call Alto Music and they confirmed what I got was NEW sealed box merchandise. They are going to try and contact Avid to figure out whats going on, since I cannot contact them.

Quite honestly, I'm already pissed and want to send both units back for a refund. I'll wait for the call back from Alto Music and see what they say.
But this is a bunch of BS a customer of NEW avid product can't get a hold of customer service without jumping through 50 hoops.

-Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-01-20 at 5.18.22 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	34.0 KB
ID:	7906   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-01-20 at 5.26.59 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	7907  

Last edited by ctyelvis; 01-20-2017 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2017, 12:56 PM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 583
Default Re: Avid Artist Control And "wonderful" Avid Customer support...

It's sad and an example. Maybe the EOL of Artist Control has something to do with it?
__________________
Mac Pro Harpertown 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad Core, HD3 Accel (PCIe), 192 I/O, Sync I/O, Euphonix MC Control, Artist Mix and Pro Tools 10
iMac 2013, HD Native, HD Omni, Pro Tools 12 HD, Avid Dock with Avid Pro Tools Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2017, 01:09 PM
ctyelvis ctyelvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, IN
Posts: 465
Default Re: Avid Artist Control And "wonderful" Avid Customer support...

Does anyone have a link to the latest software/firmware for the Artist Control and Mix?

Thank you,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2017, 05:55 AM
-3db -3db is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 43
Default Re: Avid Artist Control And "wonderful" Avid Customer support...

You have to register for an ID/PWD with avid first.

That unit uses Eucon software

You need to log in to download the software update
__________________
Digi/Avid Certified PT

Last edited by -3db; 02-03-2017 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2017, 12:33 PM
ctyelvis ctyelvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, IN
Posts: 465
Default Re: Avid Artist Control And "wonderful" Avid Customer support...

You can't make an account without a valid unregistered serial number.

I finally heard back from Avid Artist support. First, she couldn't get my name right. It's "Chris". She insisted my name was Tobias..
Second, even though I tried to explain this was a brand new purchase and provided the store name and purchase date, she repeated the serial number was already in the system and that I would have to pay a serial number transfer fee to have it in my name.

Long story short. I returned 3 grand of New Avid gear because of the my Avid support experience. Even the store sales person where I bought the Control and Mix was worthless.

With used gear I expect a few hoops getting something like this sorted out, but not with new sealed box gear.
Inexcusable...

-Chris
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2017, 01:33 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,563
Default Re: Avid Artist Control And "wonderful" Avid Customer support...

Very sorry that this was your experience. I did find a case back in June that referenced the Serial Number you provided, so either that unit was not new or there was something more complicated going on (they referred to an eBay sale). I understand that you returned the product, but wanted to let you know we are looking into this further (also want to get your account straightened out, so will follow up separately).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"SUPPORT AVID"... err..."AVID Support" Plan... littlesicily Pro Tools 12 6 12-12-2016 07:14 PM
Avid Artist Community "Visualforce" error Airehnr66 General Discussion 0 04-04-2016 04:58 PM
Artist Control won't boot, stuck on "Avid" startup screen [SOLVED] emilano Artist Series 1 05-27-2015 05:26 PM
Why is "PAID" Avid support so slow? Eric Lambert Pro Tools 10 19 08-10-2012 11:26 AM
Dear Avid customer support! Would you please answer my both avid support cases Ale Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 11-24-2011 01:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com