Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-09-2019, 07:01 PM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pro Tools is very Good BUT

Interesting replies for sure.
PT just makes me nervous - as has been noted its just so dam fragile ( well that's what it feels like). I really don't understand why all the problems I kept having were supposedly the fault of 3rd party plug ins when i just don't get the same issues in Ableton. Maybe the problem being that PT loads them all up at login? So combining that with a subscription model and paying ahead for updates that never fixed these issues just became really irritating. i would add that I had to pay a fair bit for the Ableton license to start with - so that is a measure of my frustration. I get the feeling somewhat that Avid believes that once you are in its too hard to get out and that there is enough that is right with the software to render the other issues somewhat minor. Much like the banks here in OZ although Avid would have some way to go to compete with their level of bastardry.
I used the word amateur to describe my self and by that I meant that recording is not my source of income - BUT I have been at it for 25 years and i am a decent musician and i do record a lot of people in my studio - So i reckon a lot of people are like me? All part of the home recording revolution. Ableton is in many ways easier to use and has some cool features. If Avid is serious about people like me ( and who knows maybe the hi level guys win out here) they could do well to recognise these issues.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-10-2019, 04:57 PM
PhilSchroeder's Avatar
PhilSchroeder PhilSchroeder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro Tools is very Good BUT

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSR6P-Bob View Post
I find Cubase Pro 10 to be excellent recording midi for composition from the keyboard. While it has plenty of that band of the box whiz bang stuff on offer it's not in the way. You've got to dig it out to use it.
I'd love to discuss it with you, because it's a disaster for me. The modes are not replace and overdub; it's three modes and they all do something a little weird. I'm not in need of making it work, but I'd sure be interested in your tips. Feel free to message me.
__________________
MacPro 2013, 12 core, 48G RAM
OS 10.14.6
Apollo x6 & Twin
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid Artist Mix (2)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-10-2019, 06:05 PM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 119
Default Re: Pro Tools is very Good BUT

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalmixer View Post
the logic UI is probably the worst piece of software UI I have ever used.
YUK!
+1
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, iMac Pro, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave), Logic Pro X, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, UAD Ultimate Bundle among others, Waves 11: Mercury, Abbey Road, Studio Classics, too many other plugins and VIs to name

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-10-2019, 07:27 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 392
Default Re: Pro Tools is very Good BUT

who cares what he thinks? I had a 'guy' tell me once the Trident 80b was the best sounding console ever?!?1?
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What DAW is as good as Pro Tools 12? UndergroundLab Pro Tools 12 147 05-26-2017 08:47 AM
Day 1 on Pro Tools HD 12... all good. reichman Pro Tools 12 44 04-04-2015 09:43 PM
Is This G5 Good for pro tools or is it to much March314 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-15-2009 11:22 AM
New Mac..Is it good with Pro tools?? gstone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-05-2009 10:42 AM
LCD 17" hmm is it good for pro tools??? LadyElectrikStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-22-2004 07:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com