Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2019, 12:25 PM
SAQ76 SAQ76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Default Upgrading from Pro Tools 10

Hi.

I am currently running Pro Tools 10 on Windows 7. When Windows 7 stops being supported at the end of the year I will be forced to upgrade to Windows 10.

At that point I will need to upgrade my Pro Tools (along with everything else). It looks like AVID have now moved to a subscription version.

Questions.
1. Will I still be able to buy an upgrade to a specific version (e.g. 12) or will I have to move to a subscription?
2. Is it true that old projects (e.g. songs created in P.T. 10) cannot be opened in later versions?
3. If so, how do people work with old projects?
4. Any more relevant info on the upgrade process (or where I can look for help) would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,

T
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2019, 12:25 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Upgrading from Pro Tools 10

(1) You can buy a perpetual license still, although AVID seems to be trying to navigate people away from it and toward subscriptions.
(2) No. I open PT 10, 11, and 12 sessions in 2019.5 all the time.
(3) See 2
(4) Check the compatibility documents to see if your current rig is up to the increased task of running newer software. Or post your system specs and I bet people chime in.
Side note...you’ll have to upgrade ALL your RTAS and 32-bit AAX plugins to 64-bit AAX.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2019, 06:54 AM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: Upgrading from Pro Tools 10

If you take your rig offline (not connected to the internet), you will still be able to safely run Windows 7 after extended support ends. Or if you need to stay online, you can use third party anti-virus software.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2019, 11:02 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 517
Default Re: Upgrading from Pro Tools 10

Pro Tools 10 runs just fine on Win10, I have four rigs running.
If you upgrade keep your old Win7 system drive and install Win10 on a new drive, if you run into problems you'll still have a working rig.

Plugin compatibility is where there maybe issues opening PT10 sessions with PT12.
__________________
Brian Campbell
"Air mixes better than any console" Bill Porter
"Humility is mighty important in this business of listening" Bob Olhsson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Pro Tools 12.7.1 to 12.8.3 Jesterozi Licensing & Accounts 1 04-30-2019 10:15 AM
why cant we get a pro tools and not have to keep upgrading bonzerboy General Discussion 20 03-12-2012 04:16 PM
Upgrading from Pro Tools 7.4 to Pro Tools 9 - missing iLok authorization Peoples888 Pro Tools 9 8 01-13-2012 10:04 AM
Upgrading Pro Tools LE SoulRiderLeo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-03-2008 07:44 PM
Upgrading To Pro Tools 7 Keniko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-16-2006 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com