Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 08-02-2016, 09:51 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,430
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiobob View Post
So how did it go?
Just tried 10.7.1.. After installing it the Driver shows up at v10.5.1 (after installing 10.7.1) (de-installed it before). Still has this huge offset of about 250ms (compared to 80ms with 10.4.1) but I don't even know if the 10.7.1 installer is even legit. It installs 10.5.1.

Alright back to 10.4.x.

__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 08-03-2016, 04:39 AM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 396
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiobob View Post
So how did it go?
I had a change of plans and have been away from my studio for a couple of weeks.
Frank, thank you for trying and telling us.
Have any of you users of BM hardware noticed ANYthing being better with the post 10.4.x drivers? I'm curious about what I might be missing.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl x.x.x · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 12C24T @3.46GHz · 48GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free

Last edited by Marcel Risberg; 08-03-2016 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-03-2016, 04:44 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

It's not a case of Blackmagic drivers being better or worse, it's a case of which work best with the AVE, which is what's actually at fault. Other video playback software works fine with Blackmagic regardless of the driver version. The other fly in the ointment is Apple's own USB3 drivers which are causing serious issues with some hardware. Don't be so keen to blame Blackmagic.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-03-2016, 08:12 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,430
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
It's not a case of Blackmagic drivers being better or worse, it's a case of which work best with the AVE, which is what's actually at fault. Other video playback software works fine with Blackmagic regardless of the driver version. The other fly in the ointment is Apple's own USB3 drivers which are causing serious issues with some hardware. Don't be so keen to blame Blackmagic.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
I'll run the 10.7.1 driver for a few days to see if the "unable to stop video" errors become less. I doubt it to be honest since it even happens on the systems running the latest PT12 version.

The massive increased offset of 270ms instead of 80ms on my system/screen combo is a pain. I compensate the offset in my speaker controller not inside PT because it's more accurate. But with 270ms of delay the waveform that scrolls by on screen is not in sync anymore with what you hear which is irritating when editing dialogue. Picture sync is bang-on with both drivers but I'm going back to 10.4.3 because I need to do the offset in my speaker processor to work around the annoying black-wink bug that AVID won't fix for some reason.

If the latter doesn't bother you it makes no difference otherwise. The 6-frame offset that the newer driver cause can be easily compensated in PT. I guess my setup is a bit different in that regard.

The huge delay is definitely a BM thing. Has nothing to do with the OS or PT version you're running.

I have to say that the Desktop utility is quite confusing. When you go to the "about" menu it says v10.5.4 regardless the driver installed. But when you select the "about" tab inside the settings it will show the correct driver version but then the "last updated" window says December 2015 even though the 10.7.1 is only a few days old.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-03-2016, 08:33 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
I'll run the 10.7.1 driver for a few days to see if the "unable to stop video" errors become less. I doubt it to be honest since it even happens on the systems running the latest PT12 version.

The massive increased offset of 270ms instead of 80ms on my system/screen combo is a pain. I compensate the offset in my speaker controller not inside PT because it's more accurate. But with 270ms of delay the waveform that scrolls by on screen is not in sync anymore with what you hear which is irritating when editing dialogue. Picture sync is bang-on with both drivers but I'm going back to 10.4.3 because I need to do the offset in my speaker processor to work around the annoying black-wink bug that AVID won't fix for some reason.

If the latter doesn't bother you it makes no difference otherwise. The 6-frame offset that the newer driver cause can be easily compensated in PT. I guess my setup is a bit different in that regard.

The huge delay is definitely a BM thing. Has nothing to do with the OS or PT version you're running.

I have to say that the Desktop utility is quite confusing. When you go to the "about" menu it says v10.5.4 regardless the driver installed. But when you select the "about" tab inside the settings it will show the correct driver version but then the "last updated" window says December 2015 even though the 10.7.1 is only a few days old.

F.
Try running VideoSlave or Premiere with the new drivers. I'm willing to bet that the huge delay will ONLY be when playing from Pro Tools.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-05-2016, 03:47 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,430
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Try running VideoSlave or Premiere with the new drivers. I'm willing to bet that the huge delay will ONLY be when playing from Pro Tools.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
I won't bet because I neither work on Premiere nor VS.

All I can say is:

10.4.3 driver: 80ms total offset incl. projector with DNxHD36 24.00fps QT
10.5.x and newer: 270ms offset (give and take a bit depending on exact version).

all on the identical machine with the same OS.

It's hard to blame PT/AVE looking at these facts but I'm no programmer.

Either drivers can be fully compensated to run at plus/minus 1ms accuracy when genlocked with a Sync HD so sync is a non issue (try that with VS, by the way).

It's just that in my particular setup where I want to compensate with a delay in the b-chain to avoid the annoying black-wink-bug that AVID won't fix the 250ms offset can become a bit too long when you want to see the waveform reflect what you hear.

The whole "unable to stop" errors are a whole other issue I think which is definitely an AVE issue.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-10-2016, 01:38 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 408
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

I was having a particularly bad day with AVE errors. Decided to try BM 10.7.1 (with a Deckink Extreme 3D).

The huge additional delay Frank mentioned is there - on 10.4.3 it was not.

So far it is running OK - but I also change another setting. I turned off "Enable GPU" under the main prefs. I was desperate looking for solutions so I can't say which change had an effect. But so far so good.

Anyone else disabled the GPU processing for better or worse? I literally have given no thought to my GPU. It's an ATI HD5870 1GB, it came with the computer, and it works.

Mid-2010 Mac Pro 5,1 2.93 12 core
24GB RAM
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-10-2016, 01:47 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
I was having a particularly bad day with AVE errors. Decided to try BM 10.7.1 (with a Deckink Extreme 3D).

The huge additional delay Frank mentioned is there - on 10.4.3 it was not.

So far it is running OK - but I also change another setting. I turned off "Enable GPU" under the main prefs. I was desperate looking for solutions so I can't say which change had an effect. But so far so good.

Anyone else disabled the GPU processing for better or worse? I literally have given no thought to my GPU. It's an ATI HD5870 1GB, it came with the computer, and it works.

Mid-2010 Mac Pro 5,1 2.93 12 core
24GB RAM
That's a reasonably old GPU to be fair.

I know this is on Windows, but when I pimped my GPU from an AMD 6450 to a Nvidia Gtx660Ti Cuda 2GB, everything got slicker. It seemed that the GPU was actually helping the overall Pro Tools performance.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-10-2016, 02:26 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 408
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
That's a reasonably old GPU to be fair.

I know this is on Windows, but when I pimped my GPU from an AMD 6450 to a Nvidia Gtx660Ti Cuda 2GB, everything got slicker. It seemed that the GPU was actually helping the overall Pro Tools performance.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
Yes it is old. I perhaps foolishly assumed fancy video cards were for editors and gfx artists. I figured mine works and has plenty of RAM... but maybe this is yet another thing PT is picky about? The compatibility doc just mentions "Dedicated graphics card recommended". Not very helpful.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-10-2016, 02:31 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Blackmagic Desktop Video Software v10.1.1 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Yes it is old. I perhaps foolishly assumed fancy video cards were for editors and gfx artists. I figured mine works and has plenty of RAM... but maybe this is yet another thing PT is picky about? The compatibility doc just mentions "Dedicated graphics card recommended". Not very helpful.
It used to be Nvidia Gtx650 iirc

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No video out to Blackmagic intensity pro redsixmix Pro Tools 11 3 01-16-2014 12:02 PM
BlackMagic Decklink Issues - extended Desktop? The Chinese Post - Surround - Video 4 07-29-2011 05:02 AM
new Blackmagic video products reichman Post - Surround - Video 1 04-20-2009 04:18 PM
Pro Tools with BlackMagic video cards tom_lowe Post - Surround - Video 1 08-12-2007 12:02 PM
Does anybody use Blackmagic Video Card ? Ale Post - Surround - Video 1 05-12-2005 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com