Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-14-2012, 12:15 AM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 805
Default Re: Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives?

With pt hd10 and the disc cache feature, it wont matter which disc you use...
You record to RAM so even a slow 5400 USB drive will allow you to track 768 tracks
__________________
HD3 PCIe, HD I/O , HD10.3.10, Mac Pro 6 core , 24 GB RAM , GTX285 , 10.8.5 , UAD-2 Quad Satellite , ATC SCM25A Pro with ADAM Sub 12.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-14-2012, 07:47 AM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firechild View Post
With pt hd10 and the disc cache feature, it wont matter which disc you use...
You record to RAM so even a slow 5400 USB drive will allow you to track 768 tracks
Actually from what I've read this isn't the case w/PT 10. The Ram disk cache only is active on playback. It has nothing to do with the recording process which is all the more reason why my question is pertinent for tracking. We still need 'drives' to record not just ram. Your point is correct for playing back! All you need is thumb drive and enough ram to load the song - but it's another whole thing for actively tracking.
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-14-2012, 10:00 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IO Composer View Post
Marsdy and Chrisdee -

Are either of you guys using SSD drives for the drives where you store and work on your projects or are you just using them as your boot/sample drives?

-Jamey
I'm on a Mac Pro HDX. System Drive Intel SSD 120GB. Pro Tools session drive Intel SSD 120GB. I use Synk Pro (http://decimus.net/Synk) which instantly backups my PT files as I work to 1 of the other 3 1TB internal drives.

The system (lion) boots very fast, all apps including PT launch very fast and all PT disk related functions are very fast.

You must have trim enabled: http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/ or the SSD drives will slow down over time.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-14-2012, 11:56 AM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default

So Ron,
Have you ever tried cutting 20 or 25 tracks at once to your SSD session drive? How are the write times? Any sluggishness at all in multitrack recording? That's my biggest concern. Reliability to SSD on 20-24 tks recording at once.
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-14-2012, 02:12 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewdestinyX View Post
So Ron,
Have you ever tried cutting 20 or 25 tracks at once to your SSD session drive? How are the write times? Any sluggishness at all in multitrack recording? That's my biggest concern. Reliability to SSD on 20-24 tks recording at once.
Ran a test for you. Recording 40 stereo tracks at 96k. System usage - CPU 4% / Disk 12% / Cache 55%

all functions on PT are instant. No lag time, no hangs, smooth running cursor on time line.

Just as long as you have that back up going I mentioned SSD drives appear, to me, to be just as reliable as regular HDs.

Hope this helps.

Ron
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-14-2012, 02:42 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default Re: Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronwasserman View Post
Ran a test for you. Recording 40 stereo tracks at 96k. System usage - CPU 4% / Disk 12% / Cache 55%

all functions on PT are instant. No lag time, no hangs, smooth running cursor on time line.

Just as long as you have that back up going I mentioned SSD drives appear, to me, to be just as reliable as regular HDs.

Hope this helps.

Ron
Thanks, Ron. That SURE sounds 'rock stable'. Keep in mind I'm all on Native - wondering if that makes any difference.. ??

Don't understand why AVID won't support the SSD's. Remember back about a decade when DIGI wouldn't support IDE/ATA drives? We ALL knew they worked just fine all day and all night under extreme conditions - and they still wouldn't support them. I guess they just want the highest standard.

I'll have to reread the other post about 'backup' in real time. But how do you get PT to cut to 'two drives at once'? Unless I'm missing your point. I ALWAYS run Retrospect™ backups after every session. Are you talking about something more 'raid-like' in real time when you're cutting to the SSD? Or just making sure you backup after each session which I already do.
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-14-2012, 06:54 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewdestinyX View Post

I'll have to reread the other post about 'backup' in real time. But how do you get PT to cut to 'two drives at once'? Unless I'm missing your point. I ALWAYS run Retrospect™ backups after every session. Are you talking about something more 'raid-like' in real time when you're cutting to the SSD? Or just making sure you backup after each session which I already do.
What this does: http://decimus.net/Synk is detect any changes I make on the SSD drive and immediately makes a copy to a internal HD for me. I never even notice that it's doing the copying. I do this because although the SSDs have been perfectly stable so far, I have no idea if, like a regular HD, you get a warning IF the drive was going to die. For all I know it could just suddenly die with no warning so, I'd have a real time back up ready to go.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-15-2012, 01:30 PM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives?

Ron,

That SYNK Software makes a very good impression on me. However, I do not really understand if it will further be developed?

I was always looking for such a software, but don't want to buy a "dead" software. Do you happen to have any further info than on the Decius website?

I will download the demo and play with it.
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-15-2012, 01:59 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andi R View Post
Ron,

That SYNK Software makes a very good impression on me. However, I do not really understand if it will further be developed?

I was always looking for such a software, but don't want to buy a "dead" software. Do you happen to have any further info than on the Decius website?

I will download the demo and play with it.
Always best to email the software developer directly. Let us know their answer.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-17-2012, 11:55 AM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default Re: Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronwasserman View Post
What this does: http://decimus.net/Synk is detect any changes I make on the SSD drive and immediately makes a copy to a internal HD for me. I never even notice that it's doing the copying. I do this because although the SSDs have been perfectly stable so far, I have no idea if, like a regular HD, you get a warning IF the drive was going to die. For all I know it could just suddenly die with no warning so, I'd have a real time back up ready to go.
Thanks, Ron. I really like the way Synk works. Good concept. I wonder if it's 'erasure'-smart too. Like will it be smart about the 'contents' of the source folder. So if something's removed from the source folder - is it also removed from the target? Then the other question which ALWAYS affects people working with audio files - will every time I do an edit in protools - does that marker still print to the parent file as it did with SoundDesignerII files? Every time you did an edit in ProTools it would place a 'marker' within the parent audio file and the "MODIFIED DATE" would update and Retrospect, a popular backup software, would see the parent audio file as NEW and consider it needing backing up again.. I hope that was only a function of SoundDesignerII files.
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can we not record to FAT drives any more? NeveSSL Storage Subsystems 23 10-17-2014 01:20 AM
Drives (R) record? digifriend 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 03-31-2010 04:08 PM
Record vs Transfer Drives akakpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-13-2007 06:39 AM
How do I set up session to record to 2 of 4 drives superdood Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 12-01-2003 08:43 AM
Can PT5+DAE Record onto IDE Drives?!? relaxo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-12-2000 12:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com