Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2007, 11:12 PM
akakpaws akakpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default Record vs Transfer Drives

I have an AMD 4.1 Ghz, 1G ram. The installed HD is 250 G 7200 rpm, and I added a 500G 7200 rpm SATA HD. I don't understand this concept of record vs transfer HD. Can anyone help? This seems to be an important concept to understand in PTLE 7. Which HD can/should be assigned as record/ Transfer?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2007, 01:24 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

A Transfer drive may be a drive which doesn't have the technical specs for multitrack playback and record or just a drive which you use for backups. A Playback drive could be set for Round Robin recording when you wish to make sure the drive isn't included in the Round Robin. A Record drive is obvious.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2007, 10:07 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,915
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

Here is another tidbit that might help. If you format a new drive as a Dynamic drive, you cannot record to it. Any audio drive that you wish to record to and playback from, must be formatted as Basic. To check, right-click on My Computer>select Manage>select Disk Management. On the left column where the drive letter is displayed, you should see either BASIC or DYNAMIC. If you see Dynamic, reformat as Basic(delete the partition first).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2007, 08:23 AM
akakpaws akakpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

Thanks very much, this is very helpful. I assume if I decide to reformat a drive from dynamic to basic it erases all the date on the drive?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2007, 08:26 AM
akakpaws akakpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

Thanks very much for your response. I am not sure what is meant by 'round robin" recording. Does this refer to record/playback?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:11 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,915
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

Yes it will erase everything so back it up if it matters. I keep a few USB drives just for that purpose(I never record to a USB drive).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:16 AM
akakpaws akakpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

Thanks very much for your help. Regarding formatting, I don't recall seeing an option to format my second 500 mb SATA hard drive as basic or dynamic. Is there anything else you can add which might help me figure out how to find out which format I have or how to ensure when I reformat I will be formatting as basic? Thanks again very much.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:18 AM
akakpaws akakpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

I just re-read your post and realized that you did also mention how to check for the existing format type, thanks a lot. So alls I need more info. on is how to go about formatting the drive as "basic". Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:20 AM
akakpaws akakpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

Got it, thanks very much!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:39 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,639
Default Re: Record vs Transfer Drives

Quote:
..how to go about formatting the drive as "basic"...
Google found this answer.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy rig (works): PT 5&6 / MAC G4 OS9&OSX / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LE 8.0: All Drives Magically Set to Transfer Only SeventySix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-23-2009 10:35 AM
drives mysteriously switched from Record to Transfer Reitzas Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-30-2008 01:21 PM
All drives are Transfer only! Tim Cole 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-07-2007 08:45 AM
usb thumb drives for transfer halfguard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-03-2007 01:48 AM
Best way to transfer system drives OR Studios General Discussion 0 03-14-2001 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com