Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2000, 07:04 AM
relaxo relaxo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,534
Default Can PT5+DAE Record onto IDE Drives?!?

I've been hearing conflicting reports...
Can PT 5.0 running with DAE and PT Mix hardware record audio onto ATA/IDE drives?

(Note to Digidesign: If IDE drives are still unusable, then Adaptec Inc. is filling a pci slot where thousands of NEW Mix Farm cards would be sitting! My ATA drives test faster than my Cheetah drives..so please!)

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2000, 11:31 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Can PT5+DAE Record onto IDE Drives?!?

My second IDE drive in my G4 (which I bought for backup) works fine for PT sessions-- 32 tracks, plug in on every track, etc. It was a test session, granted, and the drive definitely ACTS slower-- I could see in a real world session (which I haven't tried) it could be problematic, but as far as I can tell it works fine. Especially as cheap extra space to go with a session on an AV drive.

You can't record to your system drive, however. PT doesn't recognize it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2000, 12:50 PM
Techsupt2 Techsupt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 106
Default Re: Can PT5+DAE Record onto IDE Drives?!?

For maximum track count and performance you would want to use a compatible SCSI card with supported SCSI drives with your Pro Tools TDM systems but yes you can record to your ATA drive...even your OS drive but don't expect stellar results and again doing this is officially unsupported except for Digidesign 001 systems.

Brad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can we not record to FAT drives any more? NeveSSL Storage Subsystems 23 10-17-2014 01:20 AM
Anyone using SSD for their primary record drives? IO Composer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 30 03-11-2012 03:00 PM
Drives (R) record? digifriend 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 03-31-2010 04:08 PM
How do I set up session to record to 2 of 4 drives superdood Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 12-01-2003 08:43 AM
Can't record on audio drives Critical Bill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-06-2003 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com