Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2004, 09:45 PM
oedipus_complex oedipus_complex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 93
Default Booting from a USB HDD

Does anyone know if you can boot an emachines 6805/7 from an external usb hdd?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2004, 11:42 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Booting from a USB HDD

i dont think it's possible, but we should probably get another opinion
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2004, 05:39 PM
oedipus_complex oedipus_complex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 93
Default Re: Booting from a USB HDD

I hope it is as it would certainly solve the multiple OS issue for me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2004, 07:47 PM
jazzmandan jazzmandan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Il, USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: Booting from a USB HDD

I would strongly "guess" that you will not be able to "boot" from a USB device. The boot sequence is setup in the BIOS (F2 when you machine is starting). However, since the USB is not directly connected to IDE channel on the board it will not appear as a boot sequence option. The USB requires drivers to be loaded during the boot in order to work and therefore it cannot be the boot source.


dan
__________________
~2004 - Dell 4600 P4 3.0GHz, 2.0 GB Ram, XP Home SP3, 80GB HD for System, 120GB HD for Audio BIAB 2009, Pro Tools 8.0, MBox
09/12/2009 - Dell XPS 435T/9000 i7, 6G Ram, Vista 64 Bit 750 G SATA for System, 1TB SATA for Audio, Protools 8.0.1, MBox
10/31/2009 - Win 7 64Bit
MBox /PT not supported under Win7 - I didn't leave PT, PT left me!
11/30/2009 - MBox, REAPER



http://www.jazzmandan.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2004, 06:34 PM
CozmoXP CozmoXP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 114
Default Re: Booting from a USB HDD

Right now you can NOT boot Windows from a USB hard drive. If your BIOS does happen to support booting from USB disks, windows still does not. You can start an installation that way, and even think it is going to work, but when Windows XP starts to boot you'll get a bluescreen (7b, inaccessible boot device).

I'm not exactly sure why you'd really want to anyway, since USB disks are much slower than IDE.
__________________
AthlonXP 2700+, 1.5GB XMS DDR,A7N8X Dlx,120g 8mb Seagate System drive, 160g 8mb SATA recording drive, dual 19" CRTs and an 002r on XPSP2!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2004, 07:13 PM
oedipus_complex oedipus_complex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 93
Default Re: Booting from a USB HDD

Quote:
I'm not exactly sure why you'd really want to anyway, since USB disks are much slower than IDE
So I can have multiple OS's. I don't want to clog up my audio drive with internet and games and what not
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2004, 09:18 PM
CozmoXP CozmoXP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 114
Default Re: Booting from a USB HDD

Why not just get another disk to record to? You can have multiple versions of Windows on the same disk.. but I'm not sure what you're trying to dual boot. I don't see any point of dual booting these days. :shrug:
__________________
AthlonXP 2700+, 1.5GB XMS DDR,A7N8X Dlx,120g 8mb Seagate System drive, 160g 8mb SATA recording drive, dual 19" CRTs and an 002r on XPSP2!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:51 PM
Booyah Booyah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 552
Default Re: Booting from a USB HDD

Heres the bootable USB devices in a A7N8X bios > advanced section > first/second/3rd boot device...

USB-FDD
USB-CDROM
USB-ZIP
USB-HDD

You should see something similar unless they hid the options from you, many OEM's like to make their own custom bioses.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2004, 02:38 AM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: Booting from a USB HDD

Here's a rather old description of my multi-boot system. I wouldn't use FDisk any more, but do all that from within XP - I wasn't confident enough in XP back then.

And some XP tuning tips -
go to here (but don't do 11 or 26) or take a look at this thread.

One big advantage of multi-booting now is that you can install SP2 on your internet option, but leave your PT option(s) alone until any bugs are ironed out.

All this stuff here is copy n paste from Clip Cache (if you install multi-boot and clip cache make the CC reference file the same for all the boot options - that way anything you ever copy in one option is available to paste in all the others)

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting an 192 i/o aux Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-16-2009 09:10 AM
003 booting problem oyvindaamli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-02-2008 06:10 PM
Digi 002 not booting? MattMacDonald 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-21-2007 01:35 AM
booting with xp mooda 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-11-2002 09:39 PM
Booting up problems!! yajak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-14-2001 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com