Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2011, 06:59 PM
Legion6789 Legion6789 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 149
Default Access Violation error on exit

I just upgraded to PT10 from 9 and now I'm getting access violation errors when I try to close pro tools. I end up have to call up the task manager and using "End Process".

Anybody else get this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2011, 07:02 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,985
Default Re: Access Violation error on exit

First, temporarily move all 3rd party Plug-ins to the unused folder. Then trash preferences, and get back to us with the results.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2011, 08:22 AM
Legion6789 Legion6789 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 149
Default Re: Access Violation error on exit

When you say unused folder, do you mean a specific folder for unused plugins set up by pro tools, or just move them out of the pro tools plugin folder to a temporary folder so that they aren't loaded on program start?

Also, about trashing preferences, not sure how to do that. I googled around and came across a tech support utility on the Avid website, but it was for Pro Tools 8, not sure if I should try using it with Pro Tools 10. Is there a different tool for 10, or is this a manual process?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2011, 12:21 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Access Violation error on exit

Operating System? Come on, this is fundamental information required for users to help you.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2011, 02:31 PM
Legion6789 Legion6789 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 149
Default Re: Access Violation error on exit

Sorry, my bad.

Win 7 x64.
Core i7 920
24GB RAM

PT10 installed to system drive. Separate drive used for recording, WD Caviar Black 2TB.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2011, 04:38 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Access Violation error on exit

Hmmm... listed below is the trashing Prefs information you need, for now.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Avid\Pro Tools\Databases\Unicode delete Volumes folder

C:\Program Files (x86)\Avid\Pro Tools\DAE delete DAE Prefs folder

C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE delete DAE Prefs folder

C:\Users\Users Name\AppData\Roaming\Avid delete Pro Tools folder

Empty the Trash Bin and restart computer.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT LE 8.0.4 Access Violation Error phaust 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-02-2010 07:02 AM
Help with "Could not complete the exit command because Access Violation occurrred" keithl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-06-2010 07:24 PM
Access Violation Error Newkid1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-13-2008 08:10 PM
PTLE VIOLATION ERROR CAN NOT EXIT xbernix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-07-2002 12:18 PM
Access Violation Error phdumas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-25-2002 08:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com