Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-22-2012, 02:40 PM

Arrow Questions about Mac OSX Server

Hi there everyone, I am a windows user but am seriously considering making a very gradual shift to OSX. As a composer, I find myself needing to use mac more and more. The more involved in the industry I get, the more i'm pushed towards mac. So my question is- does anyone know if OSX Server is qualified for PT? Also, If anyone uses MOTU or Logic or Sibelius, I would like to know that these are all qualified for OSX server and how well the work with PT i.e. in rewire. I will need sessions containing lots of Kontakt, East West, Cinematique... ect, ect. Nice big phat sessions drawing from multiple HDDs. Additional software I would need would be the usual Final Cut, Media Composer, Final Draft, ect... so all the normal stuff. I just want to know if I can do this on a server? I go through HDD space like candy and would like to save some money by using server over regular Mac Pro if possible. Additionally, if anyone has a suggestion for a powerful computer that has OSX and can do all this, I would love suggestions... do I need to get a PCI card, ect... Preferably, it should be able to handle huge sessions at minimal cost. So if someone could suggest a minnimum CPU/ram that would be great. My current hardware is somewhat prone to crashing on PT.

My other question would be using PT and Vienna. Anyone tried it and how useful is it really? Should I keep my rig and consider spanning over multiple computers using Vienna?

Thanks everyone,
Happy Editing!
-notedmusic

Pro Tools 11 HD, 64Gb ram, 12tb SSD, 1909
HD Omni/Thunderbolt Native
A bucketload of libraries
www.Reverbnation.com/jedediahjenk
www.soundcloud.com/jedediahjenk