Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2002, 02:13 AM
el matador el matador is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: long beach,ca, usa
Posts: 306
Default Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

We all know that when you record enable a track you can hear the input. (for example, a mic). But, when you play back, it gets muted, you cant hear it anymore. You can only hear it if you actually record. I like to do test runs before I record. Is there anyway I can bypass the muting of the track when I playback?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2002, 02:25 AM
keny keny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Potomac, Md USA
Posts: 716
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

You have to switch to input only monitor. You need to use Auto Input in order to punch though.
__________________
just to toot my own horn, I am in the process of relocating to Los Angeles and lookign for a job, so if anybody knows someone who can help me get established as an audio engineer and producer, check out my creds at http://www.kenyruyter.com and call me 310-909-9115

myspace page
http://www.kenyruyter.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2002, 02:43 AM
el matador el matador is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: long beach,ca, usa
Posts: 306
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

huh?!
Pretend I am an idiot because for a smart guy, I can be. Exactly how do I do that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2002, 02:56 AM
keny keny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Potomac, Md USA
Posts: 716
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

it's in one of the pull down menus, I'm not sure which one, but it's right there.

Keny
__________________
just to toot my own horn, I am in the process of relocating to Los Angeles and lookign for a job, so if anybody knows someone who can help me get established as an audio engineer and producer, check out my creds at http://www.kenyruyter.com and call me 310-909-9115

myspace page
http://www.kenyruyter.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2002, 03:06 AM
el matador el matador is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: long beach,ca, usa
Posts: 306
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

OH! I see, under "operations" or you can toggle with alt+k. Thats great now, I can hear myself.
But now I can't hear the audio already recorded on the track. I want to be able to hear the track as well. Am I asking too much?

this is why. Lets say I'm punching in between vocal takes. I want to hear the vocal take before the punch in so I can sing along with it and match the tone so that when the punch in part records, I have a better chance at singing a tonaly similar part. Get it? But it seems you cant do that. Is seems I can only get one or the other. Unless someone knows how. Help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2002, 04:07 AM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,114
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

Quote:
Originally posted by el matador:
We all know that when you record enable a track you can hear the input. (for example, a mic). But, when you play back, it gets muted, you cant hear it anymore. You can only hear it if you actually record. I like to do test runs before I record. Is there anyway I can bypass the muting of the track when I playback?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">This ain't tape! Just record your rehearsals. It's all non-destructive so you won't lose the original take (unless you want to), and you can always delete the rehearsal takes later. Use a duplicate playlist to keep things organized so you know which takes are which. Who knows, your so-called rehearsal may turn out to be a keeper. I don't know how many times I wish I had been recording during a "practice run"! Sometimes magical things happen that just can't be reproduced easily.

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2020.5.0 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2002, 04:34 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

If you want something like you suggest, you could create an aux-input set to the same input as your track to be recorded. This way you will ALLWAYS hear the input in the mix. The volume will vary though....you will record it alright, but sometimes you'll only hear the aux-buss, and sometimes you'll hear 'em both....

When you are done recording, jus delete the aux-track
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2002, 04:26 PM
el matador el matador is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: long beach,ca, usa
Posts: 306
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

Yeah I tried the Aux input deal. Just like you said bastian, it works but the volume varies. I guess its the best I have at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-04-2002, 04:39 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

Did you know you can abort your recording by hitting escape instead of the space-bar or the stop-button?
This way the files that where recorded on that take will be discarded. So there's nothing wrong by recording over and over. If you completely mess up, hit the escape key, and no harm done (and no valueable discspace...)
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-04-2002, 05:51 PM
keny keny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Potomac, Md USA
Posts: 716
Default Re: Unmuting a record enabled track on playback

you can also hit control period for that.
__________________
just to toot my own horn, I am in the process of relocating to Los Angeles and lookign for a job, so if anybody knows someone who can help me get established as an audio engineer and producer, check out my creds at http://www.kenyruyter.com and call me 310-909-9115

myspace page
http://www.kenyruyter.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master Track & Input Track LED peak when record enabled sharptoothyouth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-20-2009 03:11 PM
Monitor when Playback?(while record enabled) Numi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-09-2009 06:36 AM
no audio playback when track is record enabled indoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-05-2008 07:02 AM
playback cuts out audio on record enabled track electrix101 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-04-2007 05:00 PM
Cant hear record enabled track during playback michaiel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-19-2005 02:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com