Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2007, 10:44 AM
sethbrand sethbrand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: st. louis
Posts: 167
Default M-audio Firewire 1814???

Hey guys,

I have an m-audio firewire 1814 and was wondering if I am recording bass guitar direct should I use a direct box or just plug it straight into the mic/instrument preamps on the front of the box??? Are the 2 front inputs made to accept a bass guitar signal direct, or would a direct box be better???

thanks,
seth
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2007, 02:24 PM
BIV BIV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: M-audio Firewire 1814???

If the pre's can't take a direct bass input, then I can't imagine they're worth much then, eh? Maybe I'm wrong, but I'd say it's likely a matter of preference. Let me know how it goes though, I may be buying an 1814 in the next day or two, and it will need to be able to take a direct bass input! =]]
__________________
Radio Elektro(u)nique
Limbik Frequencies
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2007, 11:55 PM
Grooveman JS Grooveman JS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 54
Default Re: M-audio Firewire 1814???

Yesss....you can record bass guitar, guitars direct thru the 2 instrument/mic preamps at the front. That's a selling point for these studio in a box interfaces. There's no need to route it thru direct box unless you're using the inputs at the back.
__________________
PowerBkG4 1.5GHz, 2GB RAM on v10.4.11/FW Ext Drive 300GB/PT-MP 7.4cs7/ProjectMix/FireWire1814/FW Driver v1.8.4-3/BlackBox v1.7-2/Axiom61/ProKeys88sx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
m-audio firewire 1814 daisy??? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 6 01-23-2016 03:32 PM
M-Powered and M-audio Firewire 1814? fredfish Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 02-17-2009 02:21 PM
003 vs. M-audio firewire 1814 legacygone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-11-2008 08:41 AM
M-audio Firewire 1814 - anyone using it successfully? Richard901 General Discussion 5 05-29-2007 12:26 AM
M-Audio Firewire 1814 can't see 8 inputs nickpell Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 11-29-2006 07:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com