Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-10-2014, 04:34 PM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,226
Default Re: New Licensing

The support plans provide all major upgrades—not just "dot" releases—and additional customer support for 12 months. Major software upgrades will be offered only through these support plans. We've also committed to providing the previously announced cloud collaboration, PXF archive, metadata and Avid Marketplace and freeze workflows as part of this offer.
If you purchase/activate between November and Dec. 31st, we'll extend upgrades and support through March 31st, 2016. If you purchase/activate starting January 1st, 2015, you'll receive 12-months of upgrades/support.
  #22  
Old 10-10-2014, 04:41 PM
johnsimmons johnsimmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Londinium
Posts: 272
Default Re: New Licensing

Any clarity on the position for existing HD11 users?
  #23  
Old 10-10-2014, 04:42 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,237
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsimmons View Post
Any clarity on the position for existing HD11 users?
What is unclear?
  #24  
Old 10-10-2014, 04:44 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: New Licensing

Its painfully clear so far
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
  #25  
Old 10-10-2014, 04:51 PM
Niilo Nuori's Avatar
Niilo Nuori Niilo Nuori is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 124
Default Re: New Licensing

Basically it looks like Avid wants to minimize the user base (for support etc.) but maximize the revenue from the remaining customers (roughly doubling the annual cost assuming ~2 year major upgrade cycle).
__________________
__________________________________________________ _______________________________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 3.40GHz + GigaByte Z68X-UD3H-B3 + Noctua NH U12P SE2 + 16GB + EVGA GTX 950 SC+
Windows 10 Professional x64 + 2 x Monitors + RME 800
StudioOne + Cubase for unlimited power, usability and features (+ Pro Tools for simpler old stuff)
  #26  
Old 10-10-2014, 04:53 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: New Licensing

From where I'm standing, it seems like a better deal for customers. Year subscription is the same cost as an upgrade used to be, and you get a year of support in addition to the new version.

What am I missing here?
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
  #27  
Old 10-10-2014, 04:56 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
From where I'm standing, it seems like a better deal for customers. Year subscription is the same cost as an upgrade used to be, and you get a year of support in addition to the new version.

What am I missing here?
It's only a better deal if they make regular releases of new features.

If they run 2 or 3 years between major upgrades, then you've spent $597 to get one new feature set.

They've said that this is an effort to "shorten" their upgrade cycle. But, before Protools 11, how many years prior was the last major feature update to Protools?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
  #28  
Old 10-10-2014, 04:58 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,237
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
From where I'm standing, it seems like a better deal for customers. Year subscription is the same cost as an upgrade used to be, and you get a year of support in addition to the new version.

What am I missing here?
What tangibly do you get for actual support that you did not get before besides a $40 or $60 phone call?

How frequently will significant software upgrades come with features that you want/need? If that is less than annually you lose out vs. the old model.
  #29  
Old 10-10-2014, 05:09 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: New Licensing

I am in the every two year camp and if there is no penalty for letting it lapse and re-AUPing when needed then I have no issue with the new program.

I do have an issue with the current "deal" cause there there is no "love" for those that already are on 11! And for a V11 owner to purchase today (for the 16 months of AUP) there is no V12 - so we are prepaying for it at the same rate that others who are on prior versions pay. They get 11 as a big upgrade - we get - 11 for now with the promise of 12 later - or features - or support - who wants to buy the ASC I have now??

__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
  #30  
Old 10-10-2014, 05:19 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
I am in the every two year camp and if there is no penalty for letting it lapse and re-AUPing when needed then I have no issue with the new program.
Oh, I'm sure there will be a penalty for letting your AUP lapse. Either you have to buy the new version outright (at $899) or you will have to buy it for however many years it has been lapsed for.

I also do not like the no love for current PT 11 owners. Right now, a Protools 8 LE owner pays the same to get into the current AUP scheme and gets Protools 11 as those of us who already own 11. I already bought Protool 11 at full retail price a year ago, and now to stay current I have to pay another $199. But that PT8 LE owners only has to pay $199 to get 11 with AUP.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Licensing? chip88 Pro Tools 9 1 11-08-2012 09:40 AM
SFX licensing MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 2 08-14-2011 04:51 PM
m-powered licensing pixeltarian Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-22-2011 08:44 PM
Licensing question pappatoad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2010 05:09 PM
Licensing Plugins help? nemisis63 General Discussion 1 10-25-2002 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com