Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-10-2014, 12:53 PM
skyko skyko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 74
Default Re: New Licensing

BTW the page says: "Please note that while Pro Tools | HD 11 can be used as standalone software, it only works with Pro Tools | HDX and Pro Tools | HD Native hardware"

This is not quite true. Pro Tools HD works with a lot of other interfaces too and has quite some features not available in Pro Tools (Standard).
  #12  
Old 10-10-2014, 01:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,213
Default Re: New Licensing

I think Avid has elevated the vertical line character "|" to a whole new level of dumb useless annoyance. So is it Pro Tools HD or now Pro Tools | HD? Which Marketing | Plucktard thought that would be a good idea?
  #13  
Old 10-10-2014, 01:39 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
I think Avid has elevated the vertical line character "|" to a whole new level of dumb useless annoyance. So is it Pro Tools HD or now Pro Tools | HD? Which Marketing | Plucktard thought that would be a good idea?
Lol...It's called a "pipe" and it actually has a use in Unix systems. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vertical_bar#Pipe
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
  #14  
Old 10-10-2014, 01:58 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,213
Default Re: New Licensing

No it's called marketing stupidity.

And yes if you were typing it into a UNIX shell like environment you could call it a pipe. But I'm not exactly clear why you would want to do that. Or do you know something we don't? Like Avid is going to rename the executable "Pro Tools.app" to say "Pro Tools | Software.app"? (that would really bugger up people trying to run it from a command line). (edit: Wholly [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]ing [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] the DUC banned word catcher lets through bugger. I wonder if that was because of debugger).

Or maybe if it's confusing folks that think it is referring to a UNX shell pipe then Avid and all of us should escape the pipe as in "Pro Tools \| HD Software". Would that make you happier? I think I'll escape it in all future mentions just to avoid confusion.
  #15  
Old 10-10-2014, 03:01 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 404
Default Re: New Licensing

What if I already own PT 11 HD? Is there any way for me to also buy into the support until 2016 with the deal?
  #16  
Old 10-10-2014, 03:10 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,213
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
What if I already own PT 11 HD? Is there any way for me to also buy into the support until 2016 with the deal?
That is the second or so time this question has been asked in this thread. The answer seems clear in the FAQ http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...4-Offer-FAQ#10 so the cost to you would be $599 per year if the FAQ is correct.

Remember it is now Pro Tools \| HD 11 not Pro Tools HD 11.
  #17  
Old 10-10-2014, 03:24 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: New Licensing

Gosh all of this sounds amazing, I can't wait, its so exciting ..... oh, actually, when I think about it .... what a load of old cobblers!

I don't think I'll be signing up in a hurry.

Maybe before trying to entice us to use Avid Everywhere, they ought to think about getting Pro Tools 11 running properly anywhere/somewhere.

What's that rush of wind! .... why it's all the post houses rushing for their chequebooks to get signed up straightaway!
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)

Last edited by nigelpry; 10-10-2014 at 03:29 PM. Reason: more sarcasm
  #18  
Old 10-10-2014, 03:44 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: New Licensing

From the FAQ-
**The new Pro Tools licensing includes a renewable, one-year standard Avid Support plan, which provides software updates/upgrades, unlimited web support, one phone support call a month, access to tons of helpful online resources, and more, so you always have help when you need it for the duration of your plan.



Hmmm... Online resources?? I sure hope the DUC isn't going to be protected and only available to PAID subscribers... And "online resources".. Hmmm the web site isn't exactly stellar to navigate and find stuff so how are we supposed to think this will be helpful..

I have Used a ASC, got lots of emails back and forth and screen shares and a couple phone calls... Well worth the 40 bucks. But Certainly not worth $600 a year as I have "Pro Tools | HD" software.

I and I'm sure many others fall on the No Savings part of the chart in the FAQ talking about how this is different... Except for the fact that a New 600 version wasn't every year... and in fact theres MANY things (VI Multiple outs being the main one) that Made PT 11 and its 600 price a complete waste of money till 11.2.1.

If this so called cloud and PT 12 comes out as thrown together and not well tested as 11 and we are all paying per year then I see a lot of Unhappy folks.

It really seems simple to that this pricing is way beyond the rest out there... specifically for the creative teams. Sure Post / Film at 600 a year, ok. But for guys doing music it sure seems like its WAY beyond the other options. I don't want to switch software. I once LOVED logic and couldn't stand not using it, then it went through a period of instability and moved on (TDM and non TDM session compatibility and resulting productivity in my situation was paramount) But This subscription just isn't a smart move in the long run for a company that didn't exactly inspire confidence in it most loyal and most profitable base i.e.: those who jumped on PT 11 early and those who did it at HD prices.

No one wants to pay more especially in these economic times for creative people in music specifically and of course any price increase is going to drive people nuts, having said that i really do thing this is excessive. Time will tell. I'm not going to say it will destroy avid because its possible i have no idea what I'm talking about, but I'm skeptical which yet again doesn't inspire confidence in the tool I invested the most amount of time into learning and being productive... More so than the financial investment, but at what point will the financial investment be greater than my desire to NOT spend the extra time relearning something else...

Rant, sure. Anyway, my thoughts.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
  #19  
Old 10-10-2014, 03:49 PM
ghostwriter's Avatar
ghostwriter ghostwriter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 746
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
What if I already own PT 11 HD? Is there any way for me to also buy into the support until 2016 with the deal?
Of course not. Loyal supporters of Avid always get nothing.
Well, nothing is not technically correct.

Bend over...
__________________
A few of of my favorite toys: Retro Instruments 176 (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM 70, SPX90, Roland SDE 3000...
  #20  
Old 10-10-2014, 03:59 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: New Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostwriter View Post
Of course not. Loyal supporters of Avid always get nothing.
Well, nothing is not technically correct.

Bend over...
How can you say this???

Just cause I got $1000 upgrade from 9HD to 10HD
and a $599 upgrade from 10HD to 11HD
And now I get the honor of the same $599 as any other 9HD or 10HD person to...
uhhh 11HD again ... LOL

All kidding aside -
AVID: you should consider extending some consideration to your loyal customers...
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Licensing? chip88 Pro Tools 9 1 11-08-2012 09:40 AM
SFX licensing MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 2 08-14-2011 04:51 PM
m-powered licensing pixeltarian Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-22-2011 08:44 PM
Licensing question pappatoad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2010 05:09 PM
Licensing Plugins help? nemisis63 General Discussion 1 10-25-2002 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com