Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-24-2020, 09:09 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Best joke ever... PT surround released on version 5.1
thak you J, thats what i meant ... too many damn numbers man !!! haha you get the point .. v5.1 !!
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-25-2020, 09:21 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JingleDjango View Post
In no particular order:

1. Reliable sidechain delay compensation
2. Midi fx inserts. (See Ableton Live)
3. Ability to load a session without manually rerouting midi to instruments
4. Automation curves and linear moves including on stepped parameters
5.ARA2 support or equivalent. Isn't ARA a subset of the VST3 standard? Seems pretty unlikely we'll ever get something by that name but the cat's out of the bag. I want to comp into melodyne.
Well.. Logic has ARA and there is zero VST3 in Logic... so.....
That said I have no idea if it can be ported to work with PT..

as long as avid create their own integrated pitch editor using something high quality like elastique pro, I think that's fine.. One can still use the melodyne plugin if for some reason they just have to have the DNA function for example.

That really is the strangest lacking feature, every DAW does it these days, even oddities like Mixcraft (ARA2) and reason (integrated).. I really hope Avid do something about it, just from a workflow standpoint.

Even when ARA became available in Cubase I still used Vari Audio cause of the way it's integrated, and it sounds fine for monophonic vocals. In fact, I don't think melodyne's time and pitch shift has ever sounded anything special. I know there's a group of us who feels this way, but most people seem to praise it.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-25-2020, 09:45 AM
diane_son diane_son is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Paris
Posts: 19
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

for our work in post but also for everyone, I'd say:

- a workspace that works
- pre/post send automation
- clip folder would be nice
- open multiple sessions simultaneously
- bug fixes !!

let's hope they hear us!
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-25-2020, 11:23 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 275
Default You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diane_son View Post
- pre/post send automation


YES
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 512GB Samsung SSD Audio Drive (temporary) | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-25-2020, 12:02 PM
Philthy Philthy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

1. Built in Melodyne-like tuning that's not Melodyne... I think Avid would probably build it better. I dislike the Melodyne interface with its finicky controls and heiroglyphics.

2. Preference setting to default MIDI tracks to note view

3. True dual-screen/full screen behavior under Windows, without all the title bar bloat

4. ??? profit
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-25-2020, 02:56 PM
wafare wafare is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 47
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

1.Unlimited delay compensation buffers
2.No I/O limits
3.Unlimited delay compensation buffers
4.No I/O limits
5.Unlimited delay compensation buffers

I'm pretty happy with ProTools other than the aforementioned.
__________________
2013 2.7 Ghz 12-Core Mac Pro
64 GB Ram
1 TB SSD
OS X 10.14.6
Lynx Hilo TB D/A
Prism Lyra A/D
Apogee Symphony MKII 2X6 SE
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12
MASELEC MTC-1x
MASELEC MLA-2
MASELEC MEA-2
MASELEC MPL-2
MASELEC MLA-4
MANLEY (Mastering) SLAM!
MANLEY MASSIVE PASSIVE (Mastering)
X2 Rupert Neve 5059
WAVES L2 Ultra Maximizer
Artist Control
X2 Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-25-2020, 05:42 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 500
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

my theory about the workspace is they should just buy SoundMiner BEFORE someone else does.....and integrate it...
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-26-2020, 09:22 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

What doesn't work about the workspaces? I admit I only use it as a sample/loop/audio file browser, with bookmarks set up and the like.. and personally I don't have any issues other than that one time it would not give sound when previewing files but that has never happened since (i narrowed it down to the disk cache setting).

I am just curious what people are trying to use them for and having issues with.

Some very good suggestions here but it's clear thus far that Pitch editing/ARA is in the lead, as I predicted it would be.. I really think that's the number one overall thing people want now and what Avid should do next. After that, perhaps they could make the midi a little better (although it's FAR from as bad as some people claim.. the piano roll itself is great IMHO).

As far as PDC buffers.. agreed.. I think it might be a HDX limit and they don't want to put it higher for native users perhaps?

Still, it should be 64K not 16K (at 44.1/48).

That said there's only a couple of effects that cause issues, and if i really must use one of them I just move the clip back manually on that track.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-28-2020, 12:21 PM
Spyda KB Spyda KB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LA 2 JA
Posts: 161
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

I really just have 3 and I know I'm in the very small minority with these...but...
  • AAX dropped altogether and simply go with VST (and AU). Implemented natively and via hardware DSP. It's time Avid...it's time......
  • Better integration of time stretching/key manipulation of audio ala ACID/Garageband. Current implementation can be a bit clunky
  • Stop nickel and diming basic features like track limits and the like. Again...it's time Avid...
__________________
Citizen K Productions
http://www.citizenkpro.com/
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-28-2020, 12:30 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 148
Default Re: You get FIVE features to add to PT only.. what are they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyda KB View Post
I really just have 3 and I know I'm in the very small minority with these...but...
  • AAX dropped altogether and simply go with VST (and AU). Implemented natively and via hardware DSP. It's time Avid...it's time......
  • Better integration of time stretching/key manipulation of audio ala ACID/Garageband. Current implementation can be a bit clunky
  • Stop nickel and diming basic features like track limits and the like. Again...it's time Avid...
Considering that Steinberg hasn't gotten devs to fully buy-in or commit to VST3, and that AU3 is just barely something that a few devs are diddling around with, I'm not sure that right now is exactly the time to try onboarding those technologies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q about the new I/O features Frank Kruse Pro Tools 12 1 04-13-2015 01:23 AM
I need help with the new I/O features lukeyy Pro Tools 9 3 11-25-2010 09:12 AM
Features grebarius Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 05-24-2008 01:02 AM
Are those features in PT7 LE? pietervd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-06-2006 09:52 AM
New features in LE 5.3.1 vonbleak101 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 06-20-2002 12:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com