Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2018, 11:28 AM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Default Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

Hey fellas
Can anybody tell me about the compatibility of focusrite scarlett 1820 USB and protools 12.5?
I'm currently using a m audio project mix and planing for to upgrade for something more of our time.
Is there any know issue about this interface?And the USB conection is it faster than m audio firewire?
Must i have to look for other firewire interface?
Windows 10 here.
Thanx for any input!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2018, 11:57 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,528
Default Re: Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

Focusrite drivers are not the best on Windows. Experiences mentioned on the forum are fine to nothing but issues. Focusrite interfaces are nice, and inexpensive. Some of the best drivers are written by RME, but their interfaces are not inexpensive.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2018, 01:49 PM
Spyda KB Spyda KB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LA 2 JA
Posts: 161
Default Re: Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

Before I switched to an iMac this year, I went from the ProjectMix I/O to the Liquid Saffire to now the Scarlett 18i20 while using Windows 7. The Scarlett line of interfaces are class compliant devices, therefore there are no drivers. You will only need to install the latest version of Focusrite Control in order to setup your routing. I didn't have any issues with the interface, my problem was just running on a 12+ year old computer with USB 2.0, but it did behave a lot better than the Liquid Saffire and the ProjectMix.
__________________
Citizen K Productions
http://www.citizenkpro.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2018, 04:26 PM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Default Re: Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyda KB View Post
Before I switched to an iMac this year, I went from the ProjectMix I/O to the Liquid Saffire to now the Scarlett 18i20 while using Windows 7. The Scarlett line of interfaces are class compliant devices, therefore there are no drivers. You will only need to install the latest version of Focusrite Control in order to setup your routing. I didn't have any issues with the interface, my problem was just running on a 12+ year old computer with USB 2.0, but it did behave a lot better than the Liquid Saffire and the ProjectMix.
This is really what i want to know.Thank you so much Spyda and thanx for The Weed for the kindly response.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2018, 04:53 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,838
Default Re: Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

I used a Scarlett 18i20 on my Windows 10 Laptop with Protools 12.5 before upgrading to my Clarett 8Pre and Protools 2018.x

It worked fine. One of the most stable setups I've ever used. But my laptop is also a powerhouse (see my signature).

If the stock drivers don't work, Focusrite has a set of beta drivers that seems to fix a few problems early on (but that was way back on Protools 11 several years ago now).

If you are buying new, you might look at the Clarett 8Pre USB, which uses USB-C and is compatible with USB 2.0/3.0 with the USB-A connectors. They seem to be much more stable than the Scarlett series were even.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2018, 07:23 PM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Default Re: Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

Thank you JC Bigler gonna check clarett out!I really apreciate!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2018, 06:20 AM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Default Re: Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyda KB View Post
Before I switched to an iMac this year, I went from the ProjectMix I/O to the Liquid Saffire to now the Scarlett 18i20 while using Windows 7. The Scarlett line of interfaces are class compliant devices, therefore there are no drivers. You will only need to install the latest version of Focusrite Control in order to setup your routing. I didn't have any issues with the interface, my problem was just running on a 12+ year old computer with USB 2.0, but it did behave a lot better than the Liquid Saffire and the ProjectMix.
Hey Spyda

I'm running scarlett 18i20 now and had experiencing some trouble after open a project and it seems freezed and appear a message as follow "protools can not initialize usb focusrite driver".Sometimes a reboot make everything run ok,sometimes not.At this moment its freezed after a fine session yesterday.
Are you familiarized with this?
Any input will be apreciated!!

Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2018, 01:46 PM
Spyda KB Spyda KB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LA 2 JA
Posts: 161
Default Re: Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackers View Post
Hey Spyda

I'm running scarlett 18i20 now and had experiencing some trouble after open a project and it seems freezed and appear a message as follow "protools can not initialize usb focusrite driver".Sometimes a reboot make everything run ok,sometimes not.At this moment its freezed after a fine session yesterday.
Are you familiarized with this?
Any input will be apreciated!!

Thanx
I don't recall having that issue. However, I did have a weird instance when PT would not see my device all of a sudden. I wound up starting PT with the N key depressed which forced to the software to detect the interface. No problems since. You can try that to see if it clears your problem. Have you also tried removing all previous unused audio drivers including Focusrite Control software, reboot and reinstall the Focusrite software?
__________________
Citizen K Productions
http://www.citizenkpro.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2018, 12:56 PM
Blackers Blackers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 213
Default Re: Focusrite sacarlett 1820 Protools 12,5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyda KB View Post
I don't recall having that issue. However, I did have a weird instance when PT would not see my device all of a sudden. I wound up starting PT with the N key depressed which forced to the software to detect the interface. No problems since. You can try that to see if it clears your problem. Have you also tried removing all previous unused audio drivers including Focusrite Control software, reboot and reinstall the Focusrite software?
Yeah i had tried it but i'll do it once more.It's the same issue you described,focusrite offers a way to solve the problem by instaling asio4all driver start PT and choose asio4all as the driver to help PT to find the driver then close the the app and start again with focus asio.Some time ir work as a charm sometimes not.Gonna keep on trying.
Thanx for your suport Spyka!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turned on Scarlette 1820 after PT 11 started opening EarthGuest Pro Tools 11 5 10-12-2015 11:39 AM
ProTools 11 and Focusrite jdcable Pro Tools 11 6 03-20-2015 03:48 PM
Mac Powerbook/Mini box2/E-MU 1820/Berringer ADA 8000 preacher5023 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-23-2010 02:32 PM
EMU 1820 Polyph 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-12-2004 10:01 AM
E-MU 1820 // Has anyone checked this out? PlainJoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-24-2004 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com