Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2010, 04:00 PM
GTBannah GTBannah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GuyBarTola
Posts: 1,698
Default Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

Windows saw and installed my MPK 25, and gave me the "go ahead" but PT isn't seeing it when I go: Setup->MIDI->Input devices.

Any suggestions?

Thanx!
__________________
Derrkins
GuyBarTola
********************
PT 2018; Nuendo 8.?; Studio One 3; former Sonar and Sequoia user .... GENELEC 1031A, AVANTONE MIX CUBES (Active); Sibelius 7.0; Dorico; Mac Mini 2.6 GHz Core i7, OS X 10.12.2 Sierra; 16GB RAM; 480 GB System SSD; 1 TB 7200 rpm Audio; 3 TB samples; Roland A-800 Pro controller; GOOD BYE PEE SEA!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2010, 04:45 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,306
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

MIDI studio setup>add device and pick most any AKAI keyboard from the list of choices. PT should be able to work with any MIDI keyboard.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2010, 05:12 PM
GTBannah GTBannah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GuyBarTola
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

Thanx for the reply!

Sorry, but it didn't work. I forgot to mention that I'm using the USB approach. Does it matter?
__________________
Derrkins
GuyBarTola
********************
PT 2018; Nuendo 8.?; Studio One 3; former Sonar and Sequoia user .... GENELEC 1031A, AVANTONE MIX CUBES (Active); Sibelius 7.0; Dorico; Mac Mini 2.6 GHz Core i7, OS X 10.12.2 Sierra; 16GB RAM; 480 GB System SSD; 1 TB 7200 rpm Audio; 3 TB samples; Roland A-800 Pro controller; GOOD BYE PEE SEA!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:17 PM
AirborneFO AirborneFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 471
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

I have the Akai MPK49. Keys work for me, but according to Akai the faders and knobs are unsupported.
__________________
iMac i5, Pro Tools 10.2, DIGI003 Command, Akai MPK49, Simmons SDK9
AKA: HoFo

"Yes, recording to the system drive is 99% likely THE main problem." sw rec
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:35 PM
GTBannah GTBannah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GuyBarTola
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirborneFO View Post
I have the Akai MPK49. Keys work for me, but according to Akai the faders and knobs are unsupported.
did you have to go through the "MIDI Studio", or was it "plug and play"?

I used to work with a CASIO WK 3800, and that was plug and play, but the driver is flaky.
__________________
Derrkins
GuyBarTola
********************
PT 2018; Nuendo 8.?; Studio One 3; former Sonar and Sequoia user .... GENELEC 1031A, AVANTONE MIX CUBES (Active); Sibelius 7.0; Dorico; Mac Mini 2.6 GHz Core i7, OS X 10.12.2 Sierra; 16GB RAM; 480 GB System SSD; 1 TB 7200 rpm Audio; 3 TB samples; Roland A-800 Pro controller; GOOD BYE PEE SEA!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:55 PM
AirborneFO AirborneFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 471
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

LOL.....thats the million dollar question. I am actually going to sell it and get the Axiom 49. When it works, it works fine. But what I didn't know is that the Akai MPK49 is not supported in Pro Tools. (Reminder: Need to go to GC and tell the guy that sold me the d**n thing that its not supported).

I can get the keys to work, but that is it. The fader, knob, etc are just eye candy. You have to install the drivers, which is really no biggie. But the pain in the a** is that you have to open the editor BEFORE you launch PT and set the MIDI to External, close, and then launch PT. So far thats the only way I have found to get it to work. I know some have appeared to have it working in 8.0, but I haven't cracked the code in 7.4 and Akai Tech Support simply says "...it's not supported".
__________________
iMac i5, Pro Tools 10.2, DIGI003 Command, Akai MPK49, Simmons SDK9
AKA: HoFo

"Yes, recording to the system drive is 99% likely THE main problem." sw rec
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:02 PM
GTBannah GTBannah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GuyBarTola
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

Logic is looking more and more atractive these days. Literally Plug And PLay. No steup, no nothing.

P-L-U-G- A-N-D- -P-L-A-Y .... Hmmm!

I'll keep digging around.

Thanx!
__________________
Derrkins
GuyBarTola
********************
PT 2018; Nuendo 8.?; Studio One 3; former Sonar and Sequoia user .... GENELEC 1031A, AVANTONE MIX CUBES (Active); Sibelius 7.0; Dorico; Mac Mini 2.6 GHz Core i7, OS X 10.12.2 Sierra; 16GB RAM; 480 GB System SSD; 1 TB 7200 rpm Audio; 3 TB samples; Roland A-800 Pro controller; GOOD BYE PEE SEA!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:08 PM
AirborneFO AirborneFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 471
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

I guess I am different. LOL. I have gone through the fire and finally got everything working like a champ on my system. Built a totally new computer and have loaded tracks to the gills with VI's and Plug In and I don't think I have gotten over 15% on CPU usage. The other systems may be easier, but this is the one I have taken the time to learn! LOL

The only thing left is to correct my MIDI controller and I should be good. It works, just doesn't work to it's maximum potential.
__________________
iMac i5, Pro Tools 10.2, DIGI003 Command, Akai MPK49, Simmons SDK9
AKA: HoFo

"Yes, recording to the system drive is 99% likely THE main problem." sw rec
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2010, 12:16 PM
Spyda KB Spyda KB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LA 2 JA
Posts: 161
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

Akai controllers are a bit fickle in PT. What worked for me with my MPD32, is to make sure it is the only USB device on the computer's USB connector. In other worda, make sure there isn't any other USB controller or device sharing the same connector with the Akai, otherwise you may experience PT lock ups when exiting or PT failure to find it.

- KB
__________________
Citizen K Productions
http://www.citizenkpro.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-2010, 06:56 PM
GTBannah GTBannah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GuyBarTola
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Does PT Talk To AKAI Keyboards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyda KB View Post
Akai controllers are a bit fickle in PT. What worked for me with my MPD32, is to make sure it is the only USB device on the computer's USB connector. In other worda, make sure there isn't any other USB controller or device sharing the same connector with the Akai, otherwise you may experience PT lock ups when exiting or PT failure to find it.

- KB
Oh boy, yet another spoilt child! Like PT, it has to be the centre of attraction, eh?
__________________
Derrkins
GuyBarTola
********************
PT 2018; Nuendo 8.?; Studio One 3; former Sonar and Sequoia user .... GENELEC 1031A, AVANTONE MIX CUBES (Active); Sibelius 7.0; Dorico; Mac Mini 2.6 GHz Core i7, OS X 10.12.2 Sierra; 16GB RAM; 480 GB System SSD; 1 TB 7200 rpm Audio; 3 TB samples; Roland A-800 Pro controller; GOOD BYE PEE SEA!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Talk back or Talk thru - I don't know.... March314 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 09-05-2013 08:04 PM
USB Keyboards danger Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-30-2005 05:09 PM
Keyboards for PC N-G-NEER Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 06-30-2004 06:46 AM
di for keyboards badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-13-2004 11:35 AM
Two Keyboards? Pulque 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-19-2003 11:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com