Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-14-2012, 05:43 PM

Default Dry Signal only

Hi guys - please be kind, I'm a noob to Pro Tools and to this forum and pulling my hair out with frustration!

So I have Pro Tools 10 set up on my Mac OS X system and it was working just fine when I was using an Edirol FIREWIRE FA 101 interface. Through that interface I could record tracks using external effects (Line 6 etc.)

I decided to 'upgrade' and invested in an Eleven Rack.

The Eleven Rack as a stand-alone is a cracking bit of kit. Worked straight from the box without a hitch.

My problems start, however when I try to use it in conjunction with Pro Tools.

Pro Tools seems to have found the Eleven Rack as it appears as a peripheral in the Hardware Setup screen.

It also shows as the default device in the Playback Engine setup screen.

Similarly, there it is again in the I/O setup screen.

Try as I might, however, I cannot seem to get the darned thing to show up as an I/O option when I create a new audio track. The only I/O options I have under 'interface' are In 1-2 (Stereo). Maybe that is the 11R, but I just need to rename it from the I/O setup screen....?

Anyway, the real problem is that the minute I launch ProTools (having been using the 11R in stand-alone mode through headphones) I lose the sound (which I expect to until I create and arm a track).

But, when I do create and arm a track I only get a dry signal coming back through the headphones and on playback only a dry signal has been recorded. All of those lovely amp simulations and effects have been lost!

So, dear friends, please point me in the right direction - what am I doing wrong?

I'm fairly sure that the problem is not with the 11R as it works fine till I launch Pro Tools....