Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2012, 05:20 PM
rivetheadsound rivetheadsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 90
Default Sc48 and pt10 32 channels

So I'm trying to get the 32 channel count going with my sc48. I have v3 software and a demo license of pt10. I did the software and firmware update...and the board now shows 32 FireWire channels...but pt only show the 18. Am I missing something? Could it be because I'm only running pt 10.0 not 10.1 (which I think is the newest). I'm open for suggestions.
__________________
Brian Lloyd
FOH Engineer - In The Mood LIVE
-Reality.exe corrupt. Reboot?-

Venue SC48
Macbook 13"
HP 2525TX Tablet
Motion Tablet LE1600
Mac Mini 2.6 dual core with 1TB 4gig Ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2012, 09:41 PM
dstagl dstagl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 415
Default Re: Sc48 and pt10 32 channels

Did you install the FWx driver for ProTools?

Dave
__________________
David Stagl - Mixer | FOH Engineer
http://www.staglproductions.com
http://www.goingto11.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2012, 11:01 PM
rivetheadsound rivetheadsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 90
Default Re: Sc48 and pt10 32 channels

yes i downloaded and installed the newest 002&003 family drivers

like i said....the board lets me do the 32 channels...and i did the firmware upgrade on my mac. but when i do the venue link option when creating a project, it only goes to 18...and so does the bus options in protools.
__________________
Brian Lloyd
FOH Engineer - In The Mood LIVE
-Reality.exe corrupt. Reboot?-

Venue SC48
Macbook 13"
HP 2525TX Tablet
Motion Tablet LE1600
Mac Mini 2.6 dual core with 1TB 4gig Ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:43 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Sc48 and pt10 32 channels

Quote:
Originally Posted by rivetheadsound View Post
yes i downloaded and installed the newest 002&003 family drivers

like i said....the board lets me do the 32 channels...and i did the firmware upgrade on my mac. but when i do the venue link option when creating a project, it only goes to 18...and so does the bus options in protools.
No, you need the FWx32 driver for PT, not the 003 driver, clean uninstall everything, install PT and FWx32
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:50 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Sc48 and pt10 32 channels

FWx32 and firmware update link
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:57 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Sc48 and pt10 32 channels

While we are at it, I'll let you know a way for a workaround if you end up having issues with FWx card firmware updater. I had some problems with that. When trying to run the updater for the SC48 FW card, I instantly got a message of Firmware being up to date, even though it obviously was not (19-32 channels grayed out). So I finally had an idea of opening Pro Tools up and THEN running the firmware updater (my FWx32 driver for PT was already installed). So then when PT was running I was finally able to successfully run the Firmware updater for FWx card as well and now everything is cool. Will try to downgrade to PT9 to see if I can make it work too, Robb has said to my colleague at Frankfurt Music messe that PT9 should work too.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2012, 02:56 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Sc48 and pt10 32 channels

Hi Brian,

One thing to try is to delete all I/O paths in Pro Tools, and then restore using the Default Paths button. Assuming FWx32 is the device in use this will give the 32 I/O paths you seek. (I'm guessing the 18 paths were left over from a previous I/O setup).

{edit} I just re-read the thread and see that the matter was resolved by installing the FWx32 driver. However you also mention another bug with importing names using VENUE Link. Tell us a bit more about what you're seeing and we'll check it out.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SC48 + Aviom A360 Mixers: Drum Channels Dropping Out justinphilip VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 02-04-2014 05:52 PM
SC48 to PT10 to Mackie Onyx 1640i Luis Marin VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 03-08-2013 05:30 AM
PT10.0.1/Venue SC48 Al Rettich macOS 0 05-07-2012 02:24 PM
64 channels with the SC48 united VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 04-03-2012 07:11 PM
SC48 = 32 Channels of Recording . . ? morrison.ece05 VENUE Live Sound Systems 12 09-12-2011 11:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com