Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2013, 02:28 PM
kirkbross's Avatar
kirkbross kirkbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 342
Default PT11 to PT11 HD Native upgrade without hardware?

I just bought Pro Tools 11 and am currently using it with my Digi002.

I am considering buying an Apogee Symphony. Can I upgrade my PT 11 software to HD Native without having to buy an AVID i/o unit?
__________________
Pearlman Church Microphone > Great River MP-2NV > Warm Audio WA-76 > Apogee Symphony MK II 8x8+8MP > PT2018 on 2018 Mac Mini with 32GB of RAM running Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2013, 02:47 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,571
Default Re: PT11 to PT11 HD Native upgrade without hardware?

The last time I checked, the answer was "no." Look around on Ebay, or buy an HD system and sell off the card, just keeping the HD license.
11 is working with your 002? There's a few people that will be happy to hear that!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2013, 03:10 PM
kirkbross's Avatar
kirkbross kirkbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 342
Default Re: PT11 to PT11 HD Native upgrade without hardware?

Yes, the 002 works okay. It shows up as "AVID 002" after a driver update.

I have had some issues with latency (more than witch PT8) however -- certain plugins (PLAY for one) won't run at anything lower than a 256 buffer but other than that, no major problems. I haven't tried very hard to fix it because I plan on upgrading my hardware anyway. I'll see how PT11 behaves after that before I dig into the latency issue.

Eventually the 002 will not work at all though and FW is on its way out so I want a forward-thinking i/o. Since I'll probably be getting a new Mac Pro eventually, I'll probably want an Thunderbolt-ready i/o. i.e. not a FW interface using a FireWire to Thunderbolt adapter... I want the full bandwidth that TB offers, or at least PCIe speeds.
__________________
Pearlman Church Microphone > Great River MP-2NV > Warm Audio WA-76 > Apogee Symphony MK II 8x8+8MP > PT2018 on 2018 Mac Mini with 32GB of RAM running Mojave.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use AAX DSP plugins with PT11 HD Native? BigDropz AAX Plug-ins 4 03-13-2014 11:14 PM
Run PT11 now, or wait to upgrade hardware solidwalnut Pro Tools 11 8 10-14-2013 06:59 PM
Possible to have 10.3.6 TDM and PT11 native on same machine? mtung Pro Tools 11 4 07-27-2013 07:11 PM
New Mac for HD Native & PT11- help!! sms1305 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-10-2013 12:40 PM
PT11 HD Native with MacPro 3.1 Jim Morris Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 04-09-2013 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com