Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2012, 05:06 PM
ianbee ianbee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 201
Default Pro Tools 10 & Velocity Sensitive Keyboards

I'm about to receive a M-Audio Keystation 61es keyboard. It has velocity sensitive keys. For some instrument plugins in Pro Tools I would like the notes I play to be recorded at full volume and not velocity sensitive. Is there any way to disable the velocity sensitive feature for whichever plugin I chose? Or how would I go about recording a plugin without velocity sensitivity enabled... on a velocity sensitive keyboard (Keystation 61es).

Any help would be appreciated so so much!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2012, 05:13 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,075
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 & Velocity Sensitive Keyboards

I've never wanted to turn off velocity sensitivity on a keyboard. Simple option is to turn off recording velocity on a MIDI track from within PT. Check the user guide for how to do that. There's also the possibility of editing the velocity after the fact from within PT from one of the MIDI editing windows.

Out of curiosity - what plugins do you think you need to do this for?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2012, 05:30 PM
ianbee ianbee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 201
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 & Velocity Sensitive Keyboards

Thanks for the help, but how would I make all the midi notes to a set value.. say 85... without having to go in and change every single note's velocity to 85, I've tried various tools like free hand and the line tool but nothing has worked to change all the notes velocity to a set value. Do you have any clue??

edit: I can select all midi notes and lower or higher the velocity of all the notifces, but this isn't what I'm trying to do.. I'm trying to change all the notes values to one set value
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2012, 05:35 PM
ianbee ianbee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 201
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 & Velocity Sensitive Keyboards

Found my answer, Event => Event Operations => Change Velocity


Sorry for the noobish question.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2012, 05:38 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,075
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 & Velocity Sensitive Keyboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianbee View Post
Thanks for the help, but how would I make all the midi notes to a set value.. say 85... without having to go in and change every single note's velocity to 85, I've tried various tools like free hand and the line tool but nothing has worked to change all the notes velocity to a set value. Do you have any clue??

edit: I can select all midi notes and lower or higher the velocity of all the notes, but this isn't what I'm trying to do.. I'm trying to change all the notes values to one set value
I don't know that there's any easy way to do what you want. PT is a bit clunky in the MIDI department. Like I asked - what plugins do you think you need to do this for? Maybe it's something we could help with here if we knew exactly what plugs you're talking about.

edit: looks like you found your solution but I'd still like to know what plugs you're working with that you want to do this to.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2012, 09:07 AM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 & Velocity Sensitive Keyboards

I usually just open the Midi editor select all notes, change view to velocity, grab the lowest velocity note in the recording and raise it up to max, all velocity points will now be at full.... I would also check to see how to turn it off in the keyboard or set the velocity to be the least dynamic... Not too familiar with that keyboard but most have velocity options built in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't edit velocity only anymore? Notes copying with velocity data... kingtinker Pro Tools 10 5 11-12-2011 10:53 AM
Pro Tools Keyboards dstryrwiz Pro Tools 10 7 11-12-2011 01:15 AM
Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders. mixboy bob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 10-08-2006 04:19 PM
Pro Tools keyboards aren Tips & Tricks 5 05-18-2006 09:01 PM
Difference between motion sensitive and touch sensitive faders? bp78 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-03-2002 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com