Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2011, 05:59 AM
Sidhu Sidhu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 227
Default Understanding the ADC engine

Hello!

I am sending 13 percussion tracks across 13 channels of an analog console to mix on.

I create a Aux bus within PT and also send those 13 channels to the Aux buss. Return the Aux bus to another 2 channels on the console.

The Aux return on the console creates phasing issues, so there is a latency involved.
Attempted with ADC on low and high settings, same issue. It seems to be sending to an aux bus inherently has a small delay.

Kindly advise.

PT HD9.x
192I/o x 3
Mac Pro Core 2 Xenon

Regards,
Sidhu

p.s. I really cant provide detailed info as I am no longer in the studio, but would be returning shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2011, 07:06 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,599
Default Re: Understanding the ADC engine

Not an HD user, so take what I offer with a grain of salt. I thought ADC works for plugins, but to compensate for hardware inserts, you need to manually add the time? At least this is how it works for non-HD users. Check the IO setup page for a tab on delay compensation. It would be something you only need to set once. There may also be function that tells Pro Tools to "ping" the insert path and automatically calculate the time for compensation. You might also check the manual (help files) for info.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2011, 08:14 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,101
Default Re: Understanding the ADC engine

ADC will compensate for the D > A & A >D of a hardware insert . . but not what happens to the signal whilst it's out in analogue world before coming back . . There is no "ping" function.

This isn't the issue in your case as you are just sending to additional outputs,(the pair), via an aux channel in parallel to the individual outputs. .

May I ask why you need to go to a stereo aux & then out ? Are you processing that pair with a plug across the aux ? If so, make sure you can see the ADC on each channel in your mix view. Check that the figure on the aux isn't red .

From memory I think the delay for sending to an aux bus is 10 samples. But that shouldn't be a problem. Try activating "compensate for delays after record pass" in the I/O set up. . Both in & out .
PT manual page 91.
Let me know if that works .
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.11.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.5 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2011, 09:49 AM
brickroadstudio brickroadstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 235
Default Re: Understanding the ADC engine

Yes HD will compensate for outboard gear. You don't have to manually adjust.
You do however have to set the ins and outs on parallel channels for it to work- in other words, output 3-4 needs to comeback into input 3-4 on your interface.
Sometimes this isn't always convenient...I would start here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2011, 07:56 AM
Sidhu Sidhu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 227
Default Re: Understanding the ADC engine

Tx for the time!

It's mostly experimenting. Taking the stereo aux out of PT to the console to compress and eq seperately.

As of now, there are no inserts on any channel within PT, nor on the console. A very straight forward send from the PT mixer to the aux channel, and then returning the aux channel to the analog console causes this phasing issue.

10 samples could cause phasing issues no ?

Ill try ure suggestion, but I thought it was all delay compensated to be sample accurate.

Regards,
Sidhu
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2011, 06:06 PM
Dirt_ Dirt_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Winnipeg,MB,Canada
Posts: 186
Default Re: Understanding the ADC engine

Sometimes I've had phasing issues when running compressed audio with the original source.

Just for example: Take a lead vocal out of PT into an outboard comp, then re-record it back into PT. Then try to blend those two tracks and see how badly it can phase, even if you "time align" them manually.

I haven't read much of this thread and maybe what I'm explaining has nothing to do with what you're experiencing, just skimmed over it. Sorry if this makes no sense lol!!
__________________
-Mac mini i7 Quad 2.3, 4g ram, OSX 10.10.2, PT11.2.1, iLok 2.
-Apogee Quartet, 2 Profire 2626's.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2011, 09:32 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: Understanding the ADC engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt_ View Post
Sometimes I've had phasing issues when running compressed audio with the original source.

Just for example: Take a lead vocal out of PT into an outboard comp, then re-record it back into PT. Then try to blend those two tracks and see how badly it can phase, even if you "time align" them manually.

I haven't read much of this thread and maybe what I'm explaining has nothing to do with what you're experiencing, just skimmed over it. Sorry if this makes no sense lol!!
There is a good chance that your outboard comp may be doing some phase shifting through its circuits.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2011, 02:09 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,101
Default

Yes. Of course it'll be phasey. The two signals are no longer identical.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.11.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.5 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.6.1 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2011, 03:10 AM
Dirt_ Dirt_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Winnipeg,MB,Canada
Posts: 186
Default Re: Understanding the ADC engine

I've noticed melodyne really messes up phasing too.
__________________
-Mac mini i7 Quad 2.3, 4g ram, OSX 10.10.2, PT11.2.1, iLok 2.
-Apogee Quartet, 2 Profire 2626's.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2011, 04:34 AM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Understanding the ADC engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by brickroadstudio View Post
Yes HD will compensate for outboard gear. You don't have to manually adjust.
You do however have to set the ins and outs on parallel channels for it to work- in other words, output 3-4 needs to comeback into input 3-4 on your interface.
Sometimes this isn't always convenient...I would start here.
Dont forget that it has to be an "insert" as in i/o on insert choices.. not just matching i/o. ff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding AFL/PFL-- midnightsun ICON & C|24 6 10-18-2013 06:25 PM
Playback Engine>Current Engine issue Hunterkiss macOS 0 06-28-2013 01:14 PM
No m-audio interface in current engine (playback engine) SlicerSounds Windows 1 10-04-2012 12:27 AM
Need Help Understanding 888 I/O Jason Kardong Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 07-16-2009 01:37 PM
64 bit understanding scar97 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-08-2009 03:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com