Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-11-2011, 11:20 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,995
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Watkins View Post
Maybe I'm loosing it, But I can't seem to find that Jetway in
the US and you guys seem to be in the US,
so where did you guys get it?

Cause that layout looks especially great for room
I cant seem to find one in the UK either!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-11-2011, 11:33 AM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: SUCCESS!! New Hackintosh(Sandybridge) / PT8 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike661 View Post
I just thought I'd post my successful build of a Sandybridge Pro Tools HD PCI rig........

Specs:
Jetway NAF92-Q67
Intel i7 2600
12gb Gskill
Asus Nvidia 210GT
Pro tools HD2 PCI-x Accel
Pro tools HD 8.1.1
Mac OS X 10.6.7

This thing is somehow more powerful than my Mac Pro 8 core HD3 PCI-E system!!

Mostly, I wanted to let you guys know that I was successful using the Jetway NAF92-Q67 (which has 4 PCI slots on it). I hadn't seen anybody else report using this board, so I took a stab at it with 100% success!

All hardware worked out of box, and with a little work made a first time DSDT, and used the current USER DSDT MultiBeast/Chimera to get it working.

I COMPLETELY RECOMMEND THIS BOARD TO ANYONE LOOKING TO GET A SOLID HD PCI SYSTEM!!!

Cheers,
Mike
Hi,

I just wanted to see if this is sill working for you, and if you are having any problems?

What PSU did you use?

Also looking for a really robust rackmount case.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-11-2011, 11:39 AM
Chris Watkins Chris Watkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ketchum, ID
Posts: 147
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

The question was asked yesterday I just saw on the other forum and isn't answered so at least I know I'm not totally foolish...

But yeah, the choices are limited and it looks like unless one gets that asus server board the jetway is it..
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-11-2011, 11:55 AM
Chris Watkins Chris Watkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ketchum, ID
Posts: 147
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Oh, I see somebody mentioned it as a "option" awhile back.

http://htpcsite.com/ProductCart/pc/v...3&idcategory=0
there sense I know others are looking for it and it wasn't obvious where I found it and it took awhile...

as far as I know too, that's the only place I found it, but eh, it's not tooo much.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-11-2011, 11:59 AM
MrJoshua MrJoshua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 267
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Watkins View Post
Maybe I'm loosing it, But I can't seem to find that Jetway in
the US and you guys seem to be in the US,
so where did you guys get it?

Cause that layout looks especially great for room

I ordered mine from NewEgg, but they show it as out of stock now.
__________________
Joshua L.
Decatur, AL
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-11-2011, 12:08 PM
temetrepo temetrepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 221
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

i also found it here
http://www.iwill.no/Hovedkort+ITX+%2...ml?language=en

can't seem to find it anywhere else
__________________
Originally Posted by JustinA
"Soon" as in we should be refreshing our browsers, or "soon" as in ADC coming to LE?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-11-2011, 02:11 PM
Fury150 Fury150 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 3
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

About the board:
DFI SB630-CRM
Same board.
The only pity is I cant find that either.
http://www.dfi.com.tw/products/Produ...bCategoryId=37
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-11-2011, 02:41 PM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

also here:
http://www.mini-tft.de/xtc-neu/produ...ckel-1155.html

i really want to order it and try! just want to get the bare minimum stuff (what is that, motherboard, cpu, ram?)
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-11-2011, 10:01 PM
mike661 mike661 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 9
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Just an update to the gentleman who asked how the system is still working out for me......

Well, the rig has been running non-stop for almost 2 weeks now. It's been put through it's stress tests in multiple sessions (approximately 50 hours worth) with not a single hickup. I don't even think it's been restarted (except for any software updates earlier last week).

Not sure if you guys missed my last post, but I mentioned that Newegg JUST stopped carrying the board as of last week, and I can't seem to find another alternative (I was hoping to build more identical systems). This is bad news for anyone else trying to build the system. I'm guessing the board has been discontinued?


PS.
The power supply I'm using is a Corsair TX750. I've used these in other systems as they are fairly quiet and efficient.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-12-2011, 02:36 AM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 238
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Here's my build, for what it's worth. I'm sorry to hear these boards have become scarce.

I-Star D-400-6-Red Chassis
Jetway JNAF92-Q67 Mobo
Intel Core i7 2600K CPU
ASUS EN210 Silent 1GD3 Display Card
OCZ-ZX1000W PSU
GSkill F3-12800CL9D (16G on 4 sticks) Memory
OCZ VTX-3 120G System Drive
2 Western Digital WD2002 Record Drives
ASUS DRW-24 CD/DVD Burner

OSX 10.6.8
ESATA Card
Pro Tools HD|3 PCI Cards (Core/Accel/Process)
Pro Tools 9.0.5

Here are a couple of pictures.
http://www.remotewest.com/Remote_Wes...rself_OSX.html



With the truck being rebuilt I haven't had a chance to really stress-test yet, but I did install my HD|3 cards and an ESATA card and then hooked up a 192. I went into record on 32 tracks (I was feeling lazy and there was a template) and let it go. No problems. The System Usage window was interesting--the PCI system stabilized at about 55% but the disk drive gauge never even flickered. I guess spreading 32 tracks across 2 drives wasn't enough load to register.

I have a few things I need to work out still. First, will the stock CPU cooler do the job when the unit is in record on 72 tracks with a bunch of plugs talking to a D-Control? I looked at a number of aftermarket coolers and even tried to install a liquid unit, but they all either require a lot of real estate or aren't constructed robustly enough to go bouncing down the road. Second, the chassis video doesn't function, so I need to figure out who gets which output. I assume it will have to be the DVI at the D-Control to be really sharp, but I'm going to test the HDMI to see how it looks. There is also a DVI monitor in the machine room for the tech to watch over things, and that panel only has a DVI input.

All in all it was pretty great to see Pro Tools launch the first time under OSX. But I'd like to make a small disclaimer here: if Apple still supported PCI I would still have bought an Apple box. And while I'm sure Avid studied the matter thoroughly before setting the prices on card upgrades, the buyin is still just too rich for me. The math comes out to about 7K out of pocket to move to current cards and Apple CPUs versus around $1800 for what I think will turn out to be a very sturdy and stable system.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, HD I/O, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 19.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, 2 1176s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 12.8.2, RME FF800/TCO, Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh for Pro Tools 7 - 7.4 anybody ? zavid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-19-2014 03:51 PM
Hackintosh Problem pocketcalc macOS 2 07-08-2012 05:35 PM
Hackintosh with PT9 HD Native? PMedia macOS 9 07-11-2011 09:12 AM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 03:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com