Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-04-2010, 02:01 AM
dannyj88 dannyj88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 23
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

So basically it's not worth waiting a few moths before buying a new laptop. If both Apple and Intel are not rushing to put it into their new PC's.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:34 AM
Brian Hulnick Brian Hulnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Fransisco, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

What seems to be the main advantage of Ver 3.0 to 2.0. Speed will be improved I take it, but what else?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-09-2010, 07:45 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,571
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hulnick View Post
What seems to be the main advantage of Ver 3.0 to 2.0. Speed will be improved I take it, but what else?
try these resources

http://www.associatedcontent.com/art...ts.html?cat=15

http://www.everythingusb.com/superspeed-usb.html

http://www.guruht.com/2009/11/usb-30...enchmarks.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GTORxdmiRY
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-10-2010, 02:59 AM
Brian Hulnick Brian Hulnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Fransisco, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Sounds promising wonder how long before laptops will implement it?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:43 AM
Brian Hulnick Brian Hulnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Fransisco, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Looking at those transfer speeds, I would have loved to have had USB 3.0 inside my upcoming MBP. Especially as the Hard Drive that I am getting is USB 3.0 compliant.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:29 AM
dannyj88 dannyj88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 23
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

If there had been any chance that upcoming laptops would have been Vers 3.0 compatible maybe I would have held off. However with nothing on the horizon I will just get my new lappy and be done with it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-30-2010, 03:50 AM
Brian Hulnick Brian Hulnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Fransisco, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

I do hope that the 2011/2012 MacBook Pro's will start implementing Ver.3.0. Seems bit of a waste having a 3.0 HD and no 3.0 MBP.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-01-2010, 03:14 AM
Brian Hulnick Brian Hulnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Fransisco, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
well..... as stated above...7 months, still no official Windows 7 support....

Still no ADC for LE and M-powered........ Still no RTAS 2.0........ still no full 64 bit Pro Tools..... Still no efficient use of multi core processors...... still no unlimited track counts... ect...

I'm sure everything will turn out fine, i mean, how many bad decisions has Avid made


But on a serious note, even though USB 3 is faster... is it any better for constant streams of data? which is why Firewire is preferred over USB.

I really like Intel's Light Peak, that is the direction to go.
Why are there so few laptops with firewire?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-01-2010, 12:16 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

$

90%+ of users don't need firewire

we are the minority
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-06-2010, 11:18 PM
Brian Hulnick Brian Hulnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Fransisco, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
$

90%+ of users don't need firewire

we are the minority
Well that, my friend is a real shame
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE compatibility with AVID VIDEO ironfin Post - Surround - Video 1 08-30-2010 11:33 PM
Compatibility status of MelodyneBridge and PT8 naughty G Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-12-2009 04:51 PM
Avid and PT compatibility? nowinner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-06-2007 08:30 AM
System Status vs. CPU Status Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-25-2003 12:40 AM
System Status and CPU Status - Please Help Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-24-2003 03:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com