Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2009, 12:12 PM
acktopus acktopus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 6
Default Firewire External HD will this work?

Wow, this is quite a painful learning process! I just recently upgraded to a new laptop and PT 8 with an Mbox Mini and have decided to get an external firewire drive for audio files. I've done a lot of reading in the forums and have checked the firewire requirements that Digi recommends but sadly some of the drives (Glyph etc) are just a little out of my price range.

I found this recommended by someone in another thread:

http://www.storagedepot.co.uk/Hard-D...c884/p536.aspx

As this enclosure contains an Oxford chip I assume it will be fine to use with my Firewire 400 port but what should I be looking for when I buy a hard drive for it?

I know that it needs to be a 3.5" SATA, 7200RPM and with a seek time of under 9ms (I think!) but are there specific, reliable makes that people would recommend or does it not really matter?

It seems that this is a bus powered, fanless enclosure but are there any reasons I should maybe go for an ac powered one with a fan?

Anything else to bear in mind?

I'm not really a technical person and the whole external thing is quite new to me. I've only ever used a USB Western Digital external in the past for general backup and didn't realise the subject could get so complicated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2009, 05:33 PM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 787
Default Re: Firewire External HD will this work?

If it's got the Oxford chipset it should be fine.

Also, Oyen Digital sell 2.5' Firewire Drives that are 7,200RPM

http://oyendigital.com/firewire-usb-...ard-drive.html

The prices are not bad.

I used this one:

http://oyendigital.com/firewire-hard-drive.html

with a 7,200 RPM Hitachi Drive in it and recorded an album in the north of Brazil which was well hot. The drive is not fan assisted and was totally fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does Avid recommend external USB over external Firewire for audio drive? DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 10 03-29-2012 09:39 PM
Are external HD FireWire 800 approved to work with PT ? Chris7514 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-04-2007 08:49 PM
Making an External Firewire drive work on both MAC & PC??? JLEpperson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-13-2007 07:01 PM
Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive TrevorForrest Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 04-28-2006 02:59 PM
How can you use an external firewire drive and Digi002 with only 1 firewire port? CraigD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-16-2003 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com