Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-03-2009, 09:35 AM
rpb1966 rpb1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North London
Posts: 147
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

I use 2 Oxford 912 FW800 drives, one for Pro Tools/Audio and one for everything else, they run well, I have not really had any problems them, well accept my 1.5 TB drive which died after one day, but that was replaced and this one works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-03-2011, 08:17 PM
SickTheory SickTheory is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 43
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

I personally would Stay away from the WD MYBOOK external hard drives because I just had one go up. It hit the floor about 7 months before but for it to worked 7 months and then all of a sudden develop issues where it will be scene by the computer for about 10 minutes and all of a sudden error is not good.

Now, for those who say I shouldnt have dropped it, your right. If it broke then I would have no problem - 7 months later is an issue which means something else cooky happened.

I lucked up and my Dell has Esata, the advantage over Firewire and USB2 is simply speed.

USB 1.1 – 15 Mbps
FireWire (1394a) – 400 Mbps
USB 2.0 – 480 Mbps
FireWire 800 (1394b) – 800 Mpbs
SATA 1.5 – 1.5 Gbps
SATA 3.0 – 3.0 Gbps

I would look at Apricorn Aegis, Toshiba makes a 1 TB External hard drive but not sure how fast the drive is, and Fantom makes a 2 TB External hard drive that seems to be pretty good.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-07-2011, 03:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,597
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

Better advice could come from knowing what your computer is. For instance, if its a desktop PC or Mac Pro, I would always recommend more internal drives(7200 rpm SATA) as that will get the best performance, and cost the least. I run 4 internal drives and leave my externals to transfers and backups. I rarely(if ever) actually RUN a session from an external drive anymore. If you have an eSATA port, that is the next best thing as that will perform the same as internal SATA(all other things being equal). Having an iMac modded to have 2 internal drives, and/or an eSATA port is also a good idea(its easy to find a USB optical drive). Firewire is my 3rd choice(and USB2 drives for Windows 7 only). No matter what route you take, BACK IT UP!!!!
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard Drive problems with Protools shameusf macOS 4 02-19-2013 05:58 PM
Installing protools to external hard drive Lonald 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-16-2007 12:03 PM
I need a external hard drive for my protools le 7 dubground 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-22-2006 01:59 PM
external hard drive with protools 6.8.1 hboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-12-2006 05:47 AM
protools and external hard drive punker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-15-2005 09:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com