Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2010, 12:58 PM
5by5_audio 5by5_audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 3
Default Does OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 work with PT8?

Hello all!

This is my first post to the forum.
Good to see here is nice and active community around Pro Tools.

I'd like to upgrade my record hard-drive system to external raid10 stack connected via eSata.
I've searched all over the internet and DUC forum which raid systems works with PT if any. I found Glyph ForteRaid which is proven to work by manufacturer.
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 looks very much same with Ofxord 936 chipset which should be "the chipset" if I've understund right at all. OWC is preferred due price and it's possible buy without any hard-drives which I allready have.

I found Hands On: OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 external RAID article but I'd like to ask if here is anyone who is using OWC raid system and can prove it is really working before I spend $400

Thanks in advance,
Paavo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2010, 04:50 PM
sensation sensation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Does OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 work with PT8?

I have not used the Qx2 with Pro Tools so I can't give you any concrete information, but I'm actually looking at the exact same thing for myself and have done some research into the functionality of a RAID system with Pro Tools. From what I understand, as long as the volume Pro Tools is reading and writing from is not bigger than 2TB it should work fine. So for example, the largest RAID 10 setup you could use is 4TB (4 x 1TB) because RAID 10 would split it into 2TB for read/write and 2TB for mirroring. There is also THIS quick article on the Glyph website.

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2010, 06:14 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,500
Default Re: Does OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 work with PT8?

RAID isn't technically supported in any form - with that said, we've seen some people have success with hardware RAID drives. I've used one of the Guardian Maximus drives (also from OWC) with Pro Tools and not had a problem.

Since it's not specifically tested or supported, I can't recommend it - I'm only giving you info on what I've seen and experienced myself.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:28 PM
5by5_audio 5by5_audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Does OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 work with PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
I've used one of the Guardian Maximus drives (also from OWC) with Pro Tools and not had a problem.
Thanks for your answers.
Because Guardian is also made with Oxford 936 chipset I think it's safe to buy Mercury so I'll gonna try that one.

All the best,
Paavo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2010, 01:47 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,500
Default Re: Does OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 work with PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5by5_audio View Post
Thanks for your answers.
Because Guardian is also made with Oxford 936 chipset I think it's safe to buy Mercury so I'll gonna try that one.

All the best,
Paavo
Make sure that, whichever one you get, that it is a hardware RAID, not software, as many of the Mercury drives are just that - and they won't work with Pro Tools. I know, I've tried - I have several Mercury Elite AL Pro's and they cannot be designated as a record volume in Pro Tools because they use a software RAID config.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2010, 01:58 PM
5by5_audio 5by5_audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Does OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 work with PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Make sure that, whichever one you get, that it is a hardware RAID, not software
As far I understand Oxford936 is hardware raid chipset.
Anyway macsales tells this in their site:
Quote:
User Selectable Hardware RAID Settings
Thanks to a front panel selector switch, the Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 enables easy configuration of the Hardware RAID settings - NRAID, 0, 1, 5, 10 - so you can select the best combination of speed, capacity, redundancy, or any combination of the three.
Thanks for pointing this out.

-Paavo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2010, 02:33 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,500
Default Re: Does OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 work with PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5by5_audio View Post
As far I understand Oxford936 is hardware raid chipset.
Anyway macsales tells this in their site:


Thanks for pointing this out.

-Paavo
Looks like it has what you need then!

If you can, let us know how it works out.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OWC Mercury Elite Pro AL philip morris macOS 6 03-09-2012 07:21 AM
Mercury Elite AL-Pro Raid socks Storage Subsystems 7 10-31-2009 01:55 AM
Mercury elite-al pro drive does not work JOHN PAYNE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 10-19-2009 09:35 AM
will OWC mercury elite pro work with mbox 2 pro?? goodbyeboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-05-2007 11:45 AM
anyone using mercury elite pro firewire with B&W G3? caz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-02-2002 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com