Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 03-09-2019, 04:26 PM

Default Book Suggestions (part 2)

Hello,

For the past year I've been on a journey to learn how to make music.
I had no idea what or how to mix, master or even what chords were just to give you an idea. I still very much consider myself a complete noobie.

I had previously asked a question regarding books suggestions. Back then, I had received two really good examples of very useful books. At the time, I didn't know what mixing or mastering was. All I knew was that I wanted to learn. I have bought both of these books and have almost completed them both.

Bob Katz: Mastering Audio
Roey Izhaki: Mixing Audio

However, now that I know what mixing and mastering is and their purpose I now know that I'm missing something very important. I don't know how to arrange at all! I don't know much at all about chords or musical techniques to create a nice musical piece or catchy song. I'm not even sure if such things exist or if I should just be putting random instruments together for whatever I think sounds good. Judging from the books I've read there seems to be some certain structures and instruments in arrangements depending on the feeling and genre of the piece.