Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2015, 07:39 PM
emilano emilano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 518
Default Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

Has anyone else has the problem that the bounce to disk isn't correct? I have a session where this is definitely the case. I noticed it by ear and then did a test (inverting the bounce versus the regular mix) and they did not cancel (not even close). This is seriously not cool! Loved this feature until now...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2015, 07:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

Bounce has always sounded the same here. Describe the entire chain or hardware, and exactly how you are comparing when listening. Try using the "Import after Bounce" option and bring it back into the session on a new track. Soloing this mix track in the session(with Master track plugins bypassed) is the most accurate way to compare.

Having said that, I listen to bounced files in WMP or WaveLab(with matched playback level) and my bounces sound correct
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2015, 09:15 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

Are you sure you're bouncing from the correct outputs?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2015, 09:38 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

Quote:
Originally Posted by emilano View Post
Has anyone else has the problem that the bounce to disk isn't correct? I have a session where this is definitely the case. I noticed it by ear and then did a test (inverting the bounce versus the regular mix) and they did not cancel (not even close). This is seriously not cool! Loved this feature until now...
If this came from a session made pre PT12, you need to check that multiple busses are not being routed to the same output.

This has burned me a few times and one thing that I wish could be addressed.

For instance, if you mixed in one session on a 002 in PT 10/11 and then moved to PT12 and mixed on an Mbox, your monitor path will be correct, but if you have a master fader in your session, it will act as a separate output buss and 2 separate paths will pass through to the monitor path even though only the old path will route through the master fader and the new one will route only to the hardware outputs.

I am not sure how this could even be addressed, but check to see if that is what happened.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2015, 01:30 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

Not necessarily saying you are wrong, or that your ears are deceiving you, but just to point out .... fm how I understand it (I could be wrong of course, that wouldn't be the first time) ....

If you have any non-linear plugins in the session ... anything from reverbs to emulations of analog circuits ... some UAD or Slate stuff, or the Waves NLS, for example, then you won't get complete cancellation.

Although they will 'sound' pretty much the same, the very nature of those non-linear elements means that they are not always the same at the same point in time, on a sample by sample basis. And if they are not the same at that level, then they won't completely canel out.

Again, not saying you are wrong, just wanted to add that into the thinkng on this topic.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2015, 07:30 PM
emilano emilano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 518
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

No, I just checked it again and its quite a drastic difference. And then I did another bounce to disk and it was a far less drastic difference (but still not canceling and still not very close to canceling and still the differences can be seen even by eye in the waveform). I'm attaching a photo below.

This was a session that was originally created in PT 11 (or maybe even 10) and is now being used in 12.2. But there is no master fader as Kris75 suggests.

I do think though that its likely that this problem started occurring right when I switched to 12. Its a super simple session because its for mixing a podcast. Though there are lots of plugins on each of the dialog chains. I tried the comparison of bounce vs real time mix again while inactivating wave rider (which i thought could be the culprit though its not supposed to be active while bouncing to disk) but that didn't fix it. I must have discovered a bug here (I made sure I was bouncing from the correct chain... Mix record chain, which is the same bus of course that the real time record version used).

Here is the screenshot. Click on the photo to make it larger:
http://postimg.org/image/vbo51m8kt/

thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2015, 08:04 PM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

Add, route, bounce with a master fader and see if anything changes. By the waveform size it looks like either some stuff is cancelling out or not everything is being bounced. Did bounce settings change when u updated? Curious to see the solution to this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2015, 11:23 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

zero difference here ….
modulating plugin?
Reverb plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2015, 04:41 PM
emilano emilano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 518
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

ok, ill try the master fader idea. i got nothing else. except maybe importing into a new pt 12 session and seeing if that helps...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2015, 06:22 PM
emilano emilano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 518
Default Re: Bounce to disk not the same mix as record down???

For some reason, tonight it seems to be working much better. Visually, the waveforms look exactly the same in tonight's bounces. But still not a full cancel and still a little too much for comfort but much much better. The only thing I did differently was to make a master fader for the main outs. That seemed to make things better. But then I deleted the master fader and the bounce was still much better in the same way. So I have no clue what's going on but I've lost my faith in the bounce to disk...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounce to Disk issues and bounce to direct show error. SeattleHank Windows 7 01-01-2014 12:41 PM
Bounce To Disk or Record To Track??? Audio quality... RWTV Tips & Tricks 12 10-23-2013 01:52 PM
Bounce to Disk intermittently causes freeze and disk unmount after PT 10.2 Upgrade AllThingsMusicStudio macOS 0 06-28-2012 07:16 PM
Record to disk vs bounce to disk Johncmuzic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 11-05-2006 09:42 PM
Bounce to Disk - Record on CD digimog Tips & Tricks 8 07-02-2004 08:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com