Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2014, 04:50 AM
haarekk haarekk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 5
Default S3L(-X) faders stuck or not responsive

Hi, I detect more then a few stuck faders, and almost as often, a fader becomes unresponsive- the link between the software and physical fader (singular not all faders) is broken. The effected fader is not constant.
When a Stuck Fader report appears, I can select reset faders, however, I will not always like to initiate a reset mid- song or event, as I can adjust level in the software, or reconfigure User layer and get the adjustment there.
Now, when a fader looses connection no Fader Stuck alert appears so the option of reset faders is not available.
I understand this is a probably a protective reaction, and probably an issue with thresholds of a hindered fader when flipping or switching layers.

So I feel the urgent need for an option to reset a single fader, or at least an option to reset all faders without resetting the complete surface (as this mutes all surface inputs and outputs, causes less to flash and leaves me with mouse/touch control for a minute.)

This may be connoted with the "hindered fader position memory" (at least in 4.1) when flipping or switching layers; When holding faders for a long enough period-less then a second) when flipping or changing fader operation, the next operation inherits level form the faders actual position.

There is also the Plugin GUI issue, 1176 comp locks the meter at full left position, and I have the MH pac installed with meters only active when the Plugin preset window is open

Anyone else experienced this or do I have a buggy system?
__________________
Haarek

S3L, MacBook Pro(thunderbolt), PT11
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2014, 08:22 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: S3L(-X) faders stuck or not responsive

Hi, these are know issues, stuck faders happen more on some systems, none on others. VU style metering issue is also known. Actually there is a way to reset only the controls on S3, I think you must hold Control when you right-click on your Devices tab to enable hidden commands.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
faders get stuck Rockpolice VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 10-29-2011 02:19 PM
dead, non responsive faders steviecandtheplacetobe ICON & C|24 6 01-17-2011 04:40 PM
Faders won't bank. I'm stuck. travistko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-16-2009 07:11 AM
Using LE System. First 8 control 24 faders stuck? Xuser ICON & C|24 5 12-17-2005 05:14 PM
Faders are STUCK like CHUCK mudnoc ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 03-01-2005 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com