Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-09-2016, 06:35 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen.

Can you post your full system specs? What chipset does your firewire adapter use?

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-2016, 07:19 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,744
Default Re: Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen.

I have no idea if it is possible to downgrade firmware.

If you are in the middle of a project try to touch/upgrade *anything*. In this case I would have suspected you have a hardware issue, either the FireWire card in the PC or the Mbox. It is not clear wether you were running the same sessions against the Mbox on different OSes, or what buffer sizes you were running at, or if you had ignore errors checked or not or if you ever saw a DAE errors. Next time it may be better to ask for help here *before* you start just trying stuff.

Unfortunately Avid consumer interfaces are not well supported, I would never purchase one again. The ultimate thing here may be to upgrade/move to one of many third party interface choices (and not FireWire on Windows), especially if repair or even firmware reset costs turn out to be significant.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-09-2016 at 07:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-09-2016, 05:47 PM
showerscene showerscene is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 8
Default Re: Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen.

I have come to realise that the issue is the FireWire cable. Last night, I had the Mbox working then cutting out. It has to be the cable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-2016, 05:59 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,744
Default Re: Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by showerscene View Post
I have come to realise that the issue is the FireWire cable. Last night, I had the Mbox working then cutting out. It has to be the cable.
Run with it. You would not think they should be a problem but I've had more prolems with FireWire cables than many others put together.

As always testing elsewhere does not mean it is guaranteed to work. Get a few cable and try them. Remove any extensions/adapters you can (and use a cable with FW 800 to 400 conversion built in id you need that).

Gently flex/wiggle cables looking or loose of faulty cable/board connectors.

If you happen to have anything else on the Firewire bus (e.g. external drives) try removing it and just have the Mbox 3 Pro alone on the bus with one connector cable and no separate adapters.

There has also been power supply and internal wiring issues on Mbox 3 Pros in the past. Make sure your power supply is well connected and is not seeing quick power dropouts/transients.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-09-2016, 06:03 PM
showerscene showerscene is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 8
Default Re: Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen.

My firewire port is only one port. You think I should get a few different cables and test them out? What about the 400-800 cable? my computer takes only 400 firewire (6pin).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-09-2016, 06:17 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen.

Be careful wiggling around 6pin firewire connectors, they can short out and fry either your adapter or interface.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-09-2016, 06:22 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,744
Default Re: Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by showerscene View Post
My firewire port is only one port. You think I should get a few different cables and test them out? What about the 400-800 cable? my computer takes only 400 firewire (6pin).
No, then you are set, you just need/want a standard Firewire 400 cable, but try a new one if you suspect yours.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-09-2016, 08:36 PM
showerscene showerscene is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 8
Default Re: Windows 7 doesn't pickup Mbox Pro 3rd Gen.

Ok, I'll do that and report what happens. Hoping for the best
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBOX 3 PRO DOESN'T WORK ON WINDOWS 7, can't get sound through monitors Doobielespaul FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 05-05-2014 06:21 AM
SE doesn't install on my windows 7 32 bit help help help hexxx007 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 09-16-2012 11:30 AM
Windows doesn't recognize Mbox? Blackhawk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-13-2012 07:55 PM
Not getting Mic pickup on MBox Mini alanagrace Pro Tools Software (Mac) 8 12-31-2011 08:18 PM
windows doesn't know my card Grysbock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-27-2001 07:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com