Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-03-2015, 05:58 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

Ok, first thing - Go through the Optimization Guide. Then try my other suggestions from one of my last posts: Do you have USB 2 ports you could connect the Mbox to, or a USB 2 hub to put between your laptop and Mbox? Also, be sure you've installed the latest drivers for your USB controller.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-03-2015, 09:45 AM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

I have installed all of the latest drivers and tried running the MBOX in every conceivable USB side port and external multi-USB port. It just wants to blow up my machine.
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-03-2015, 10:24 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,795
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

According to the picture you posted, I would suspect some kind of IRQ conflict. If it were me, I would reformat the hard drive and reinstall the OS and drivers via the factory reinstallation disk.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Here I go again on my own
Going down the only road I've ever known
Like a hobo I was born to walk alone
And I've made up my mind, I ain't wastin' no more time


_______________
-Whitesnake, "Here I Go Again", Saints & Sinners (1982)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-03-2015, 12:23 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

I don't want to do that exhaustive/devastating of a restore unless absolutely necessary.

I can get the MBOX to play and run audio through it, but only for a few minutes. Then it gets glitchy, fragmented, it stops, starts again, and then BSOD.

What else can be done to solve the IRQ issue?
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-03-2015, 12:30 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

There is a IRQ conflict listed under the device manager. Intel chipset, Intel management engine interface, and NVIDIA GeForce GTX670M are all listed under IRQ # 16.

Does this mean anything?
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-04-2015, 02:07 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

Even after doing a billion tweaks and set-ups, this MBOX is still having some kind of a massive problem. It runs for about a minute, and then audio gets garbled, and then BSOD. I cannot believe that all of the device reinstalls that I have done have not easily solved this problem. It is all about the AVIDMBOX.sys failing. Help!
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-05-2015, 09:16 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

Have you tried a basic USB 2 hub between the Mbox and PC?

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-05-2015, 09:30 AM
Michael Zull Michael Zull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 249
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

At this point I'd call it a day on trying to troubleshoot, do an image back up of your current drive and just reinstall Windows 7. Or, pop a new drive in there and do a fresh install on the new drive.

These days I can't make it past trying to troubleshoot something like this for more than a couple days before I just bite the bullet and do a fresh install. It sucks if you have lots of software to reinstall but it's better than pulling your hair out for three weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-05-2015, 11:41 AM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 500
Default Re: BSOD with Mbox 3rd Gen plugged in

I tried the USB to PC and it still gave me a BSOD.

However, I tried a different interface, a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, and it has worked flawlessly. How is this possible?
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists STEVIE WONDER, MOBY, RIHANNA, ESPERANZA SPALDING, RANCID, JOSH GROBAN, ALIEN ANT FARM, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, FRANK OCEAN, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES) etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Not Recognized (only when plugged in after...) deathpoet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-02-2011 09:18 AM
PT9 won't start without mbox plugged in. stubied Pro Tools 9 8 02-27-2011 02:22 PM
Mbox 2 driver re-install randomly whenever MBox plugged in Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-25-2008 08:22 AM
MBox plugged in 24/7? SeasonOfPain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-06-2004 10:47 PM
Mac MBox plugged into a PC MGalway 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-25-2002 12:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com