Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2016, 07:23 AM
tomyco tomyco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 53
Default What Pro tools version will I need for Apples El Capitan Operating System.

I am purchasing a new IMAC with the El Capitan operating system. I currently have Pro Tools LE 8 on my old computer and using a Digi 002 rack as my interface. Will I need to up grade my Pro Tools software to work with the El Capitan operating system? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2016, 11:36 AM
Exponential Audio's Avatar
Exponential Audio Exponential Audio is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 126
Default Re: What Pro tools version will I need for Apples El Capitan Operating System.

If you have any option at all of getting an iMac with Yosemite, I'd strongly advise doing so. El Capitan changed a number of things in its graphic support that have had the unfortunate effect of making lots of GUIs very sluggish. You'll see other threads about this on the DUC. Pro Tools is by no means the only affected workstation. LogicX itself suffers from the same problem, meaning that Apple doesn't even appear to talk to itself.
Avid, as well as independent developers, are working hard to understand just what's going on. Until that happens, you'll have a much happier experience of PT12 on Yosemite than you will El Capitan.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2016, 11:51 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,314
Default Re: What Pro tools version will I need for Apples El Capitan Operating System.

FYI- the supported OS versions are listed in the Pro Tools Operating System Compatibility Chart.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No compatibilty between Eleven Rack and Mac Operating System "El capitan". Diego375 Eleven Rack 8 10-26-2015 05:25 PM
the operating system is not adequate for running avid pro tools Bouhthehamster Windows 2 08-07-2015 01:09 PM
Which Windows Operating System Is Best For Pro Tools? TylerW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-18-2010 01:01 PM
Any Way to Use Pro Tools on Vista Operating System??? chillax69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 08-22-2007 06:53 AM
Which Operating System Version? Edward Soady Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 02-24-1999 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com