Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2004, 06:18 PM
swayne swayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 110
Default MBOX SONAR SOUNDFORGE ???

I purchased MBOX bundle and I am beginning to regret this. I cannot use Soundforge with any sound playback or record into soundforge. Soundforge is one of the best recording software out there. How can DIGIDESIGN not support this?????

I am using Pro Tools LE update to 6.4 and
using Digidesign sound driver update
and WIN Service PACK 1a

Any suggestions before I return this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2004, 06:38 PM
Bazzle Bazzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Next door,to where I used to be.
Posts: 3,148
Default Re: MBOX SONAR SOUNDFORGE ???

Unfortunately you can only 'playback' Soundforge thru the Mbox.You would need to install the Wavedriver and the MME helper from this web page

The work around to record, is to record into Protools and then export the regions as files and open them in Soundforge.It works for me.

Sonar is both I/O using the ASIO driver that would have been installed with your 6.4

It is not Digidesigns fault, it is Sony/Sonic Foundry's, they need to add ASIO support for Soundforge, as they have with Acid and Vegas.
__________________
Bazzle

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2004, 08:51 AM
swayne swayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 110
Default Re: MBOX SONAR SOUNDFORGE ???

Thanks Bazzle. I installed the MME driver and this worked.

Btw, do you know the best way to edit in Soundforge from Pro Tools LE. Looks like it used to be much easier in with Sonar.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2004, 09:01 AM
Bazzle Bazzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Next door,to where I used to be.
Posts: 3,148
Default Re: MBOX SONAR SOUNDFORGE ???

Quote:

Btw, do you know the best way to edit in Soundforge from Pro Tools LE.
The best way I have found is to export the track or region of the track you want to edit as a .wav file at the same bit depth and sample rate as the session.You can save it wherever you want, but I usually put them in the current folder.Then you open them in Soundforge, do your editing and then Render them and reimport them back into protools.If that is what you want.If you are using Soundforge as your Mastering app.You just BTD from Protools and open the mix in Soundforge and you are good to go.
__________________
Bazzle

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 questions- mbox/soundforge and preset management mrufino1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-26-2005 10:42 AM
Sonar and mbox? opt1k1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-03-2005 11:08 PM
Soundforge w/001 worked..w/Mbox not working help! bryanbassett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 11-12-2003 09:24 PM
Mbox & e.g. Soundforge kekkonenurho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-25-2003 01:21 PM
getting soundforge to output to mbox (asio drivers?) dj:A 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-24-2003 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com