Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-20-2006, 10:13 PM

Default Mixing for movie theaters vs. home theaters

Hello all! I have a few questions regarding movie theater mixing. I have been working for five years mixing animated shows in stereo and/or surround for home theater and broadcast. Recently my company has taken up the challenge of theatrical releases, but I feel quite unprepared since we have no mixing stage and management is very reluctant to even rent a movie theater for testing purposes. Despite these (rather large) obstacles I'm still striving for a decent quality show. So, here goes...

1) What audio delivery format does a typical movie theater (i.e. Rave Motion Pictures) use for all-digital movies? I know most theaters don't use AC-3 files, so what happens to my 8-channel DA-88 tape once I send it to an authoring house? I've been asking them directly, but so far no answers. It makes me question their professionalism.

2) I remember some mixers mention on this forum that they mix up to -4dBFS instead of 0dBFS. I've done a few searches and can't seem to find the reason. Is it just to leave headroom for home theater downmixing?

3) Dialog in the surrounds... I don't do this usually, but the movie theater environment is so much bigger than what I'm used to. Should I send a small amount to the L/R/Ls/Rs channels? Should I lighten up on any dialog reverb to maintain intelligibilty?

4) Are there any time delay issues I can anticipate with speakers that far apart? Or, am I at the mercy of whoever calibrated the theater?