Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2009, 11:18 AM
nate9's Avatar
nate9 nate9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 186
Smile Signal Flow?

On the Control24, under the metering section, it has labeled channel input, post insert 1 post ins 2 post ins 3 etc.. then pre fader, post fader, dyn key input, dyn gain reduction.

Would I create an Audio track then 5 Aux ins for inserts, 2 tracks for Pre and Post Fader, 2 for Dyn Key Input and Dyn Gain Reduction? It makes sense when looking at conventional consoles to have it setup this way, having all your effects, auxillary inputs and such. And what about the pre post fader, dyn key, dyn gain reduction all in one big a net shell, please! I'm a bit confused?

P.S. My logic board crashed so I apologize for any late responses to your feed back I really do appreciate all the feed back you guy's give me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2009, 07:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,171
Default Re: Signal Flow?

just my 2 cents as I run the 003 surface. I leave the meters set to prefade all the time. Tapping pre-fader shows pretty much everything that happens upstream(which includes all plugins) and beyond that, I feel no need to meter anything else. I can hear if the mix gets to big and starts making the internal mix buss get crunchy(which can easily happen with large sessions and fairly hot tracks). When that happens, I make a group out of all the audio tracks and drag the volumes(all of them in one move) down by 2-3db and rebounce. I have experimented with mixing using post-fade meters and never really found it of value except for the odd string section where its handy to balance out 6 or more stringed instruments.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2009, 07:46 AM
nate9's Avatar
nate9 nate9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 186
Default Re: Signal Flow?

Wow that sounds really cool...

I just did a session using prefade sends on multible tracks (using 31-32 for the cue) and did just that.

I found that I was using pre fader metering most of the time and grouping

I was wondering about the labels on the control24 under the meter section on the left side, under the actual meter indicators....What are they for?
__________________
Control24, Digi 002, Rosetta 800, KRK V8's, PT 7.4
Macintosh G5 Dual 2.0 3 gbs ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Signal flow alexford67 Pro Tools 10 4 05-17-2012 10:38 AM
Signal flow for mastering emstar Pro Tools 9 11 11-20-2011 09:32 AM
signal flow- plug ins stainless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-27-2009 07:51 PM
signal flow iamsaved General Discussion 5 01-31-2006 09:53 AM
002rack signal flow.... Lesson 8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-14-2005 06:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com