Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 07-06-2007, 06:07 AM

Default musical

Hi all again, I was talking to the producer, director and set designer today for a movie shooting in September.., a musical. They were banging there heads together about how it should be done. I could think of so many ways, but nothing simple and all prone to lyp sync problems. They were thinking production concerns and visuals, fair enough. I have been pushing the director a little to let me know where the music and in what form will it manifest, so to speak. I have a lot of musical background and very little time (for a musical). BUT luckily one of my very good friends is a musical genius (because he has done nothing but play guitar and learn guitar for around 40 years. He has consented to helping in anyway possible.., dont underestimate this guy. He is kean to put music to movie. Anyway, obvious the best way is a studio, but these guys want to do it on set for lyp sync (and possibly financial) reasons.

Fortunately the director is not silly and has written all the words and melody, enough for my friend to work through it in a flash.

soooo. these guys want to get the music done and mime to it on set, which is not too bad an idea I think. Plan is, I get the music (rough cut), fine tune it to the final product before post production and the actors mime and I put it to film in post. I was going to do location but all agreed I was too busy.

any thoughts would be appreciated.., I think this project could be fun.

M:)

I Mac 24 inch screen, tiger 10.4.11, CPU dual core 2.16ghz, 2 gig ram, UB.
PT 7.3.6. M Box2
Old 07-06-2007, 06:41 PM

Default Re: musical