Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > System 5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2018, 04:05 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 168
Default Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

I own several of these units and one of them has recently started outputting cycilcal noise whilst at the same time not locking to house sync via word clock input.

The problem is intermittent and sometimes leaving the unit off for a while will make it work normally for a period of time.

I own six Euphonix converters in total and they are housed in a suspended rack which is occasionally moved between locations. The house clock is in the same rack and word clock cables are new and are never touched/fiddled with.

Furthermore, the units have built-in fans and an extra unit of rack space in between each other. The rack is suspended so there is an inch of space betwen the frame and the outside walls.

Any help is very much appreciated as is a copy of a service manual if it exists (I could not find one).
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O


COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2018, 09:24 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,652
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Try locking to a different sample rate...does that work ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2018, 12:30 PM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 168
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Try locking to a different sample rate...does that work ?
That does not work. At the moment if I switch off the unit and leave it off for a while it will work fine for some time. Then it will start emitting noise and the clock indicator will switch from 44.1/Word (Auto) to Custom/Word (Auto)



I will get a tech to look into it but would be very grateful for pointers so I do not just give him the unit and hope he can work out the rest.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O


COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2018, 08:15 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,652
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Yes, I'm speaking to the guy that actually fixes these and he's asking the questions. The fact it fails after it warms up points to a component failing.
So if you switch to Internal and 48Khz it still starts making noise ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2018, 04:17 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 168
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Yes, I'm speaking to the guy that actually fixes these and he's asking the questions. The fact it fails after it warms up points to a component failing.
So if you switch to Internal and 48Khz it still starts making noise ?

That is brilliant and much appreciated, Eddie!


The MA703 can't run on internal (being a D/A only) but I did try to select MADI as sync source with the same result. It goes to Custom and outputs noise.


It did occur to me, too, that it might be temperature related.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O


COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2018, 12:27 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,652
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

This is most likely the crystal(s). We usually replace both when we're in there.

You should measure the +/- 18Vdc rails. They should be between 17.5-18Vdc. Attached is a picture. In this picture, the 3 test-points can be seen just under the serial number label, just to the right of the black heatsinks. They're labelled +18, GND, and -18.

The pictured board is a newer version with the regulators heatsinked, the older versions have the regulators lay flat, soldered to the board.

The crystals are custom-made by Cal Crystal Comclock. High-precision. We have some we could sell you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	crystals.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	55.0 KB
ID:	11080  
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2018, 02:57 PM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 168
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
This is most likely the crystal(s). We usually replace both when we're in there.

You should measure the +/- 18Vdc rails. They should be between 17.5-18Vdc. Attached is a picture. In this picture, the 3 test-points can be seen just under the serial number label, just to the right of the black heatsinks. They're labelled +18, GND, and -18.

The pictured board is a newer version with the regulators heatsinked, the older versions have the regulators lay flat, soldered to the board.

The crystals are custom-made by Cal Crystal Comclock. High-precision. We have some we could sell you.

That's great - thank you so much, Eddie. I will measure the voltage over the test points and take it from there. Since I am up against it working to a deadline it might be a few days until I can see to it. I will come back to this thread to update.


Thanks again!
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O


COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clocking Problem???? mybrother 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-12-2010 02:09 PM
003 clocking problem rowchar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-21-2008 11:44 AM
Clocking problem with 96 i/o DonovanBomb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-14-2007 08:27 PM
Clocking Problem Fix... Bastiaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-14-2003 01:17 AM
Clocking problem? Please help kurt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-11-2002 01:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com